Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 21:03:23

Sponsor 743
July 28
Hilltop Speedway,
Millersburg, OH
Sanction: Short Track Auto Racing Series (Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week) - $3,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett (last updated July 29, 4:15 pm)
Sheppard rides low groove, wins Hilltop debut
Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week
  1. Brandon Sheppard
  2. Doug Drown
  3. Corey Conley
  4. J.R. Gentry
  5. Dave Hornikel
  6. Tyler Carpenter
  7. Rod Conley
  8. Ryan Markham
  9. Zack Dohm
  10. Jeff Babcock
  11. Rick Mardis
  12. Duane Chamberlain
  13. Vic Hottinger
  14. D.J. Cline
  15. Ty Myers
  16. Brad Mickley
  17. Chris Shannon
  18. Shane McLoughlin
  19. Craig Wolford
  20. Jeromy Misel
  21. Wayne Maffett Jr.
  22. Devin Moran
  23. Michael Davis
  24. Allan Baker
presented by
Roy Walker/rdwphotos.smugmug.com
Brandon Sheppard was quick in prelims and followed it with a feature win.
What won the race: Seventh-starting Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, lll., overtook polesitter Doug Drown of Wooster, Ohio, capturing his first career Buckeye Late Model Dirt Week victory at Hilltop Speedway. Sheppard, one of three drivers for Ohio-based Best Performance Motorsports in action, collected $3,000.
Quotable: "Them guys were just sliding up out of the bottom a little bit on the very start of the race, and that allowed me to just putt around there (in the inside groove)," said Sheppard, who won his Hilltop debut. "Luckily they were sliding up off the corner and I was able to get underneath of 'em, or else we wouldn't have been able to get to the lead. It was pretty tough to pass and the racetrack was pretty tricky."
Key notes: Sheppard became the fifth winner in as many Buckeye races. ... The race was slowed by four cautions coming on laps nine, 17, 22 and 23. ... Devin Moran started 16th and was in eighth before getting involved in a incident at halfway. ... Tyler Carpenter drove Tyler Jones's MasterSbilt Race Car after violently rolling last night at Atomic Speedway. ... The STARS-backed speedweek moves to Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Friday and wraps up its sophomore campaign Saturday with a $5,000-to-win program in its return Atomic Speedway.
Winner's sponsors: Sheppard's Best Performance Motorsports Rocket XR1 Chassis is sponsored by Valvoline, Keyser Manufacturing, Hoosier Racing Tire, and Mason Racin.
Points chase: With a runner-up finish at Hilltop, Doug Drown moved into the Buckeye lead with 620 points over Zack Dohm (600) and Rod Conley (575).
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Brandon Sheppard
Time: 14.332 seconds
Polesitter: Doug Drown
Heat race winners: Dave Hornikel, Brandon Sheppard, Shane McLoughlin, Doug Drown
Consolation race winners: Jeremy  Misel
Next series race: July 29, Brushcreek Motorsports Complex (Peebles, OH) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728