Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/25/2020 07:41:23

Sponsor 743
July 22
Swainsboro Raceway,
Swainsboro, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $5,300
Information provided by: Brian McLeod and series reports (last updated July 23, 3:51 pm)
Surviving Swainsboro, Franklin wins on Southern Nat'ls
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Dillon Wood
  3. Brent Dixon
  4. Ricky Weiss
  5. Craig Vosbergen
  6. Jordy Nipper
  7. Scott Shirey
  8. Donald McIntosh
  9. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  10. Chris Ferguson
  11. Kenny Collins
  12. Hunter Peacock
  13. Russell Brown Jr.
  14. Vic Hill
  15. Brandon Overton
  16. Stacy Boles
  17. Casey Roberts
  18. Devin Gilpin
  19. Donald Bradsher
  20. Chris Brown
  21. Shanon Buckingham
  22. Robby Moses
presented by
Brian McLeod
Dennis Franklin scored a $5,300 Southern Nationals victory at Swainsboro.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., bested 10th-starting Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, Fla., to register his 10th career Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series victory at Swainsboro Raceway. He earned $5,300 for becoming the fourth winner in as many 2016 events on the Ray Cook-promoted tour.
Quotable: "I knew we had a good car, but I was just gonna wait and then those two guys (Ivedent Lloyd and Donald McIntosh) got together ahead of me," Franklin said. "I thought I drove a smart race until I looked at my front end after it was over. I hit the inside wall over there in turns one and two and I couldn't hardly steer the car after that happened."
Key notes: Afternoon rain deluged the track, creating a very late night and rough track conditions. ... Several top contenders pulled out early and settled for their start money rather than deal with rugged track conditions in what turned out to be a survival-of-the-fittest event; just eight cars finished the feature. ... Franklin took control after a late collision between Donald McIntosh and Ivedent Lloyd as they battled for the lead. McIntosh returned to action chasing points but pulled into the pits a few laps later; Lloyd suffered heavy damage and was done for the night but accepted blame for the incident. ... Chris Ferguson was felled by a flat tire while leading. ... Making his first start of '16 on the tour, Wood pitted to change a flat tire while running second late but rallied to finish in the runner-up spot. ... Brandon Overton wheeled a Troy Baird-owned car. ... Johnny Pursley barrel-rolled violently in turns three and four while leading a heat race but was uninjured. ... Blake Smith won the Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Wood started 10th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Race Car is sponsored by M&W Transport, C&D Properties, Nichols Plumbing, and Hoosier Racing Tire.
Points chase: Entering the event, Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., led the standings over Shanon Buckingham and Chris Brown.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 13.866 seconds
Polesitter: Hunter Peacock
Consolation race winners: Brent Dixon, Kenny Collins
Provisional starters: Shanon Buckingham, Robby Moses
Next series race: July 23, Screven Motor Speedway (Sylvania, GA) $5,300
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728