Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 01/16/2021 09:47:44

Sponsor 743
July 19
411 Motor Speedway,
Seymour, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $3,500
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated July 21, 10:57 am)
Crabtree earns first Southern Nationals victory
  1. David Crabtree
  2. Devin Gilpin
  3. Chris Brown
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Vic Hill
  6. Craig Vosbergen
  7. Walker Arthur
  8. Cory Hedgecock
  9. Robby Moses
  10. Shanon Buckingham
  11. Skylar Marlar
  12. Pierce McCarter
  13. Robby Moses
  14. David Doherty
  15. Ricky Weiss
  16. Brian Ligon
  17. Jordon Horton
  18. John Ownbey
  19. Ross White
  20. Bobby Giffin
  21. Gavin Landers
  22. Billy Ogle Jr.
  23. Jadon Frame
presented by
Chad Wells
David Crabtree (c5) outgunned Donald McIntosh (7) for the lead at the start of the feature and never looked back.
What won the race: Polesitter David Crabtree of Maryville, Tenn., led the entire 35-lap Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series feature, outrunning third-starting Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., to earn his first career victory on the tour. Crabtree collected $3,500.
Quotable: “It was really good,” Crabtree said of his machine. “I wanna thank Matt (Barrett) from Hoosier (Tire South)… he put us on some tires and he made the call really instead of us. If we’d have left it alone we would’ve been way too loose.”
Key notes: Crabtree, who became the tour's 30th different winner since its 2005 debut, was emotional in victory lane as he dedicate the win to his mother who passed away last year. ... Crabtree got the jump on Donald McIntosh for the early lead. ... The race's first caution flew on the seventh lap when Pierce McCarter slowed. ... John Tweed suffered a flat tire on lap 12 for another caution; Gilpin took second from McIntosh on the ensuing restart. ... Billy Ogle Jr. went up in smoke on lap 16 for a yellow flag; Tweed, John Ownbey and Jordon Horton tangled after the restart. ... Ross White brought out the feature's final yellow on lap 17. ... Craig Vosbergen and Ricky Weiss got together on the first lap of the first heat race, triggering a four-car incident that also swept up Vic Hill and Derek Ellis. Weiss received heavy damage and was forced to retire, while the other drivers were able to continue with less significant damage.
On the move: Third-place finisher Chris Brown of Spring, Texas, started seventh in his first-ever visit to 411.
Winner's sponsors: Crabtree's Rocket Chassis carries sponsorship from 321 Storage, Merriman Excavating and Brucebilt Performance.
Points chase: Chris Brown ended the night with 388 points to lead Devin Gilpin (384); Shanon Buckingham and Vic Hill were tied for third with 372 points.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 13.496 seconds
Polesitter: David Crabtree
Dash winner: David Crabtree
Heat race winners: Vic Hill, Chris Brown, Walker Arthur, Cory Hedgecock
Provisional starters: Ricky Weiss, Pierce McCarter, Gavin Landers
Editor's note: Fixes feature finish.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728