Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/18/2020 17:30:09

Sponsor 743
July 16
Wythe Raceway,
Rural Retreat, VA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 17, 7:43 pm)
McDowell stays up late for $10,000 payoff
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Donald Bradsher
  3. Chris Brown
  4. Gregg Satterlee
  5. Shanon Buckingham
  6. Devin Gilpin
  7. Ricky Weiss
  8. Stacy Boles
  9. Vic Hill
  10. Billy Ogle Jr.
  11. Craig Vosbergen
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Pierce McCarter
  14. Jimmy McNamara
  15. Chris Ferguson
  16. Travis Greer
  17. Gavin Landers
  18. Robby Moses
  19. Walker Arthur
  20. Billy Hicks
  21. Donald McIntosh
  22. Jason Johnson
  23. Derek Ellis
  24. Ryan King
  25. C.S. Fitzgerald
  26. Johnny Pursley
presented by
Brian McLeod
Dale McDowell waves to fans from Wythe victory lane.
What won the race: Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., kicked off the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series in fine fashion at Wythe Raceway, scoring a $10,000 victory in a 53-lap feature that ended in the wee hours of Sunday morning after the start of the program was delayed several hours by rain. He overtook race-long pacesetter Donald Bradsher of Burlington, N.C., for the lead on lap 49 en route to his first-ever triumph on the Ray Cook-promoted tour.
Key notes: McDowell was victorious for the second straight week; he captured a Lucas Oil Series event on July 9 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. ... Bradsher chased McDowell under the checkered flag after leading laps 1-48 in a strong performance. ... Texan Chris Brown finished third as he began his first attempt at the Southern Nationals. ... Eight caution flags slowed the feature, which took just under one hour to complete. ... Five-time series champ Chris Madden was absent after announcing that he will have to sit out the tour while recovering from a concussion suffered in a July 9 accident at Smoky Mountain.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell's Team Dillon Racing Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis is sponsored by ECR Engines, Clements Race Engines, Boydbilt Fabrication, Bad Boy Off Road, University of Northwestern Ohio, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Cometic Gaskets, Keyser, Manufacturing and Mark IV ATV's.
Points chase: The event opens the Southern Nationals campaign.
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Donald Bradsher
Time: 16.075 seconds
Polesitter: Donald Bradsher
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728