Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 06:34:02

Sponsor 743
May 25
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series East (Johnny Appleseed Classic) - $2,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett and track reports (last updated May 27, 4:43 pm)
Miller captures third Johnny Appleseed at Big E
Johnny Appleseed Classic
  1. Matt Miller
  2. Jeep Van Wormer
  3. Kent Robinson
  4. Brad Neat
  5. Jeff Babcock
  6. Scott James
  7. Jerry Bowersock
  8. Wayne Chinn
  9. Jon Henry
  10. Brandon Thirlby
  11. Casey Noonan
  12. Curtis Roberts
  13. Rusty Schlenk
  14. Brian Ruhlman
  15. Dusty Moore
  16. Phil Ausra
  17. Rich Bell
  18. Brad Eitniear
  19. Matt Irey
  20. Aaron Scott
  21. Duane Chamberlain
  22. Rich Neiser
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Matt Miller led every lap for his third Johnny Appleseed victory.
What won the race: Leading all the way from outside the front row, Matt Miller of Waterville, Ohio, joined Shane Yoder as a three-time winner of the Johnny Appleseed Classic by capturing the ALMS East event for the third time in four years. Jeep Van Wormer tried to challenge late but settled for second with Kent Robinson third.
Quotable: "I enjoyed it," Miller said. "The car was a little off. We dialed it in a little bit there for the feature and it was a lot better."
Key notes: Matt Miller has 26 career ALMS victories, seven at Eldora. ... He also won the Johnny Appleseed in 2011-12. ... Polesitter Duane Chamberlain of Richmond, Ind., trying to extend a personal six-race winning streak, got into the backstretch wall on the 10th lap while battling for second and flattened his right-rear tire; he finished 21st. ... Fast qualifier Jonathan Davenport got into the turn-three wall in the first heat, disabling the car's right-front corner; he scratched for the night. ... Chris Keller and Curtis Roberts also caught the wall in the second heat. ... Brad Neat piloted a Justin Rattliff No. 16 in finishing fourth. ... Rusty Schlenk drove the Lawrence Motorsports No. 11. ... The 45th annual race serves as a tuneup for $100,000-to-win Dream XX scheduled for June 5-7. ... Miller Lite sponsored the night's racing. ... Jeff Babcock won the modified feature.
On the move: Seventh-starting Jeep Van Wormer improved five positions to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Miller’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Rick DeLong Racing, Dominator Race Products, Corrigan Race Fuels, Hoosier Tire and Integra Racing Shocks.
Points chase: Entering the race, Rusty Schlenk of Weston, Ohio, had 385 points to lead Brandon Thirlby (367) and Phil Ausra (313) in the ALMS East chase.
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Jonathan Davenport
Time: 16.067 seconds
Polesitter: Duane Chamberlain
Heat race winners: Duane Chamberlain, Matt Miller, Kent Robinson
Provisional starters: Brad Eitniear, Curtis Roberts
Next series race: June 14, Winston Speedway (Rothbury, MI) $2,000
Editor's note: Fixes Chamberlain's winning streak to six.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728