Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/22/2020 03:35:54

Sponsor 743
July 1
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Freedom 40) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 3, 7:55 pm)
Hickman gets past Hedgecock in TST's Freedom 40
Freedom 40
  1. Riley Hickman
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Cruz Skinner
  4. Will Roland
  5. Scott Dedwylder
  6. Chase Edge
  7. Jeff Helms
  8. Grant Pearl
  9. Shep Lucas
  10. Joe Noojin
  11. Heath Hindman
  12. Dillon Tidmore
  13. Ronnie Johnson
  14. Brandon Williams
  15. Marcus Minga
  16. Adam Gauldin
  17. Colton Horner
  18. Ahnna Parkhurst
  19. Mike Combs
  20. Michael Blount
  21. Jason Britton
  22. Justin McRee
  23. Kyle Shaw
  24. Ryan Carter
presented by
What won the race: Second-starting Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., overtook polesitter Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., on lap 27 and led the remaining distance to capture Friday night's NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Freedom 40. Hickham earned a $2,000 payday after beating Hedgecock to the finish line by 0.753 of a second.
Key notes: Hickman earned his first NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory of the season. He also won the night's Super Late Model feature. ... In the NeSmith event, Hedgecock took the lead at the drop of the green flag and held it for the first 26 laps while Hickman kept pace. ... Consolation race winner Cruz Skinner improved to finish third. ... Twenty-one of the 24 starters finished the race. ... Three caution flags slowed the race. ... TST contested the first of three events that are part of NeSmith's Salute to America Nationals. Penton (Ala.) Raceway and East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, Ala., also host NeSmith events over the holiday weekend. ... The tour returns to Talladega Oct. 21-22 for two more events.
On the move: Chase Edge of LaFayette, Ala., started 13th and placed sixth in the final rundown.
Points chase: Scott Dedwylder ended the night with a slight two-point lead in the standings (734-732) over Hedgecock.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Cory Hedgecock
Time: 14.344 seconds
Polesitter: Cory Hedgecock
Consolation race winners: Cruz Skinner, Adam Gauldin
Next series race: July 3, East Alabama Motor Speedway (Phenix City, AL) $2,500
Editor's note: Updates remaining weekend schedule.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hedgecock, Hickman
Row 2: Roland, Noojin
Row 3: Helms, Horner
Row 4: Skinner, Gauldin
Row 5: Dedwylder, Pearl
Row 6: Minga, Lucas
Row 7: Edge, Tidmore
Row 8: Hindman, McRee
Row 9: Johnson, Combs
Row 10: Shaw, Williams
Row 11: Blount, Parkhurst
Row 12: Britton, Carter

Sponsor 1156
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728