Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 21:02:47

Sponsor 743
July 2
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Born Free 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated July 3, 6:50 am)
Brownstown's Born Free 40 nets Gilpin $5,000
Born Free 40
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Michael Chilton
  3. Steve Casebolt
  4. Justin Rattliff
  5. Adam Bowman
  6. Jeremy Hines
  7. Jared Bailey
  8. Shelby Miles
  9. Chad Stapleton
  10. Brandon Kinzer
  11. Joe Godsey
  12. Steve Godsey
  13. Steve Barnett
  14. Nathan Vawter
  15. Logan Mounce
  16. Matt Bex
  17. Mason Covey
  18. Alan Magner
  19. Brian Wilhite
  20. Marty O'Neal
presented by
Mark Schaefer/schaefer11.smugmug.com
Devin Gilpin shows off his big paycheck at Brownstown Speedway.
What won the race: Celebrating the Fourth of July weekend in style, Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., earned $5,000 with a victory in Saturday night's unsanctioned Born Free 40 event at Brownstown Speedway. It was arguably the biggest Super Late Model win ever for Gilpin, a three-time UMP modified national champion who is in the midst of the busiest full-fender season of his career with car owner Jim Beeman and crew chief Tader Masters.
Quotable: "We’re getting better every week," Gilpin said. "It’s just a pleasure and an honor and a blessing to be able to get the opportunity to do this. I know there’s a lot of people and a lot of good talent that can fill this seat and do my job … I just got lucky enough that Jim Beeman had enough faith in me and Tader (Masters) had enough faith in me to come aboard and help out. We just make gains every week."
Key notes: Gilpin was victorious in Super Late Model action at Brownstown for the second consecutive week. ... Michael Chilton drew close to Gilpin late in the distance, but after slipping over the turn-four bank he had too much ground to make up and settled for second place. ... Steve Casebolt finished third after an early-morning cancellation of Saturday night's scheduled World of Outlaws event in Pevely, Mo., prompted him to race in his home state. ... Greg Johnson experienced mechanical trouble during his heat race and scratched from the remainder of the evening's action. ... Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., won the inaugural Born Free 40 event but didn't compete this year.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin's Jim Beeman-owned MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens engines and carries sponsorship from Beeman Lumber, Dasco Racing Supply and Vallery Chevy.
Points chase: In track points heading into the weekend, Jeremy Hines of Seymour, Ind., had 359 points to lead Chad Stapleton (355).
Heat race winners: Michael Chilton, Devin Gilpin, Justin Rattliff
Consolation race winners: Shelby Miles
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728