Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2020 02:15:10

Sponsor 743
July 2
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Freedom Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 3, 7:37 am)
Vaught's woes propel Sanders to Salina cash
Freedom Classic
  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Jesse Stovall
  3. Tad Pospisil
  4. Terry Phillips
  5. Austin Siebert
  6. Josh Hughes
  7. Tony Jackson Jr.
  8. Jason Papich
  9. Randy Timms
  10. Brandon McCormick
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. Tommy Weder Jr.
  13. Payton Looney
  14. Jacob Magee
  15. Bryon Allison
  16. Will Vaught
  17. Larry Campbell
  18. Justin Asplin
  19. J.C. Wyman
  20. Ryan Gustin
  21. Brantlee Gotschall
  22. Jason Hughes
  23. Shannon Scott
  24. Jake Davis
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Will Vaught (1v) and Rodney Sanders (20) battle up front at Salina.
What won the race: Third-starting Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, inherited the lead on lap 36 when race-long pacesetter Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., retired with a flat right-rear and went on to capture the 40-lap Freedom Classic. Sanders beat fourth-starting Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., to the finish line by 0.584 of a second to secure a $5,000 payday in the event co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association and MARS DIRTcar Series.
Quotable: "We've been second here so many times it feels good to get a win," Sanders said. "I lost brakes there the last 20 laps. We've kind of struggled this year . I saw Will was going pretty hard there at the beginning. I could run with him a little bit, then I lost brakes and was just gonna ride. Luckily we held on for the win."
Key notes: Vaught started from the pole position and led until misfortune forced him to the pit area with just four laps remaining. ... Stovall chased Sanders for the final circuits but settled for second place, snapping his two-race MLRA win streak. ... Sanders earned his second career MLRA victory and first in MARS competition. ... Fourteen of the 24 starters finished the race.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Stovall led the MLRA standings while Tony Jackson Jr. paced the MARS points.
Car count: 35
Polesitter: Will Vaught
Heat race winners: Tad Pospisil, Josh Hughes, Will Vaught, Ryan Gustin
Consolation race winners: Shannon  Scott, Jason Hughes
Next series race: July 7, State Fair Speedway (Sedalia, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728