Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/08/2020 20:41:07

Sponsor 743
July 1
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Iron-Man Championship (Scott Sexton Memorial) - $3,052
Information provided by: Series and contributor reports (last updated July 2, 1:06 pm)
Canadian invader steals Bulls Gap glory
Scott Sexton Memorial
  1. Ricky Weiss
  2. Shanon Buckingham
  3. Skylar Marlar
  4. David Payne
  5. Stacy Boles
  6. Billy Ogle Jr.
  7. Mark Vineyard
  8. Tommy Bailey
  9. Chad Ogle
  10. Jordon Horton
  11. Robby Moses
  12. Ray Cook
  13. Vic Hill
  14. Mack McCarter
  15. Ross White
  16. Doug Smith
  17. Bobby Giffin
  18. Ryan King
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
After retiring, Vic Hill (right) welcomes teammate Ricky Weiss (left) to victory lane at Volunteer Speedway.
What won the race: Benefitting from his car owner Vic Hill's last-lap misfortune, second-starting Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, inherited the lead and went on to defeat fourth-starting Shanon Buckingham of Morristown, Tenn., to capture Friday night's 30-lap Scott Sexton Memorial. Weiss earned $3,052 after race-long pacesetter Hill, who started from the pole, slowed with a broken rearend while rounding turns three and four heading to the white flag.
Key notes: A four-time WISSOTA national champion, Weiss won his first race of 2016. The Canadian made his fourth start of 2016 behind the wheel of a car fielded by engine builder Hill. ... Hill led the race by as much as a straightaway before handing the top spot to his hired gun. ... Buckingham passed Weiss for second just before the race's lone caution flag flew on lap nine for Bobby Giffin's slow car, but Buckingham ceded the spot back to Weiss on the restart when he admittedly made a mistake in choosing the outside lane. "I feel like I let my first win starting back (in racing this year) get away from me," said Buckingham, who still earned his best finish of 2016. ... Nine drivers went the full 30-lap distance. ... Ray Cook lost a top-five finish when he ran over debris from Hill's broken rearend on the last lap and blew a tire. ... The feature lineup was set straight from time trials. ... The event opened a doubleheader weekend for the Ironman Mountain Championship, with action continuing Saturday at Tazewell Speedway. ... Volunteer's lower divisions raced past 2 a.m. after a delay when the generator for the track's infield lights ran out of fuel.
On the move: Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., started 14th and ended up sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Weiss's Vic Hill-owned No. 7 has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and is sponsored by A.I.E. Communications, All Rig Towing, Keewatin and Orthopaedic Institute.
Points chase: Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., did not enter Friday's event but remained the Ironman Series points leader with 592 points over Kye Blight of Katanning, W. Australia (554) and Tommy Bailey of Corbin, Ky. (540).
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: VicĀ Hill
Time: 12.029 seconds
Polesitter: VicĀ Hill
Next series race: August 18, Richmond Raceway (Richmond, KY) $10,059
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hill, Weiss
Row 2: M. McCarter, Buckingham
Row 3: S. Marlar, Cook
Row 4: Boles, C. Ogle
Row 5: White, Payne
Row 6: Horton, Vineyard
Row 7: King, B. Ogle
Row 8: Bailey, Moses
Row 9: Giffin, D. Smith

Sponsor 718
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728