Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/22/2020 13:13:02

Sponsor 743
July 1
Thunder Mountain Speedway,
Knox Dale, PA
Sanction: Zimmer's United Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 3, 12:44 pm)
Volpe wins first ULMS feature at Thunder Mountain
  1. John Volpe
  2. Dave Hess Jr.
  3. Joe Martin
  4. Jared Miley
  5. Andy Fries
  6. Luke Hoffner
  7. Paul Kot
  8. Breyton Santee
  9. Greg Oakes
  10. Chad Rougeux
  11. Andrew Gordon
  12. Dan Stormer
  13. Gale Huey
  14. Devin Lewis
  15. Levi Sikora
  16. Jason Witherite
  17. Charles Powell Jr.
  18. Scott Alvetro
  19. Kevin Santee
  20. John Weaver
  21. Steve Arthurs
  22. Mike Blose
  23. Curtis Teats
  24. Jamie Barber
  25. Joe Petyak
presented by
Derek Bobik
John Volpe (53) heads for victory at Thunder Mountain Speedway.
What won the race: Coming out on top in a caution-plagued 30-lap feature, John Volpe of Lakeville, N.Y., took the checkered flag for his first career Zimmer's United Late Model Series victory at Thunder Mountain Speedway. He earned $3,000.
Key notes: Volpe was triumphant just 10 days after celebrating his 26th birthday. ... Charles Powell led the first 17 laps before retiring. ... Jared Miley took the lead on lap 18 but lost it shortly after a restart on lap 20. He fell back to 10th but rallied to finish fourth. ... Joe Martin held the point on laps 20-21 before Volpe took command for the closing stages. ... Nine drivers completed all 30 laps in a feature slowed by several cautions and a red flag. ... The tour stopped at Thunder Mountain for the second straight season.
On the move: After slipping back as far as 16th early, Dave Hess Jr. marched back forward to record a runner-up finish. He took second from Martin on lap 26.
Winner's sponsors: Volpe is sponsored by Neil's Propane, TSR, Maloney Classic Cars, Taco Hut and A-Automotive
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Miley led the standings (83) over Volpe (78).
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Mike Blose
Time: 15.960 seconds
Heat race winners: Jared Miley, Mike Blose, Andy Fries
Next series race: July 14, McKean County Raceway (East Smethport, PA) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728