Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/22/2021 09:30:41

Sponsor 743
June 14
West Liberty Raceway,
West Liberty, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 15, 2:21 pm)
Champ wins at West Liberty in return to tour
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Scott Fitzpatrick
  3. Denny Eckrich
  4. Tyler Droste
  5. Kevin Kile
  6. Jeremiah Hurst
  7. Andy Eckrich
  8. Tyler Bruening
  9. Joe Zrostlik
  10. Kyle Hinrichs
  11. Chad Holladay
  12. Ron Boyse
  13. Cayden Carter
  14. Ryan Dolan
  15. Darrel DeFrance
  16. John Emerson
  17. Jeff Aikey
  18. Rob Moss
  19. Joel Callahan
  20. Nick Marolf
  21. Andy Nezworski
  22. Jay Chenoweth
  23. Matt Ryan
  24. Ray Guss Jr.
presented by
Barry Johnson
Justin Kay picked up his first Deery Brothers victory of 2016.
What won the race: Two-time and reigning series champion Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, overtook Denny Eckrich on lap 18 and raced to his first Deery Brothers Summer Series victory of the season Tuesday at West Liberty Raceway.
Quotable: “We’d won weekly shows at Davenport Friday and West Liberty on Saturday. We didn’t make any changes from the weekly show here,” Kay said. “We always enjoy racing at West Liberty.”
Key notes: The victory was Kay's 17th career on the IMCA tour. ... Kay is the sixth winner in series six 2016 series races. ... He drove the No. 15k car the Gheer'd Up Race Cars team had fielded for semi-retired Iowa driver Brian Birkhofer earlier this season in open-competition engine events. ... Kay won Friday in the car at Davenport and West Liberty in regular-season action. ... Outside front-row starter Denny Eckrich led the first 17 laps at West Liberty on Tuesday. ... Ray Guss Jr. took a heat race victory, but was later disqualified for using illegal rims on his car.
On the move: Tyler Bruening started 18th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by ASi Racewear, Gheer'd Up Race Cars, Hoker Trucking and Petersen Insurance.
Points chase: Entering the event, Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, led the standings (224) over John Emerson (214) and Ryan Dolan (212).
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Justin Kay
Heat race winners: Jeremiah Hurst, Denny Eckrich, Ray Guss Jr., Justin Kay
Consolation race winners: Chad Holladay
Next series race: July 6, Independence Motor Speedway (Independence, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Kay, D. Eckrich
Row 2: DeFrance, Kile
Row 3: Boyse, Fitzpatrick
Row 4: Callahan, Hurst
Row 5: A. Eckrich, Ryan
Row 6: Droste, Marolf
Row 7: Holladay, Hinrichs
Row 8: Carter, Moss
Row 9: Aikey, Bruening
Row 10: Zrostlik, Guss
Row 11: Dolan, Emerson
Row 12: Gustin, Nezrowski

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728