Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/19/2021 16:31:38

Sponsor 743
June 9
Hesston Speedway,
Hesston, PA
Sanction: Ernie D's Appalachian Mountain Speedweek - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 10, 3:32 pm)
Jackson rules Hesston for first AMS victory
  1. Keith Jackson
  2. Dylan Yoder
  3. Jason Covert
  4. Kenny Pettyjohn
  5. Mike Lupfer
  6. Matt Cosner
  7. Tim Wilson
  8. Austin Hubbard
  9. Matt Parks
  10. Andy Haus
  11. Justin Kann
  12. Steve Campbell
  13. Dan Stone
  14. Chad Hollenbeck
  15. Rick Singleton
  16. Waylon Wagner
  17. Jeff Rine
  18. Andy Fries
  19. Billy Wampler
  20. D.J. Myers
  21. Bryan Bernheisel
  22. Nick Dickson
  23. Charles Powell Jr.
  24. Tim Smith Jr.
presented by
Jason Walls/wrtspeedwerx.com
Keith Jackson captured his first start of the 2016 season.
What won the race: Winning his first career Appalachian Mountain Speedweek event in his first start of the season, Keith Jackson of Odenton, Md., led all 30 laps from the pole to collect a $3,000 payday. Jackson beat runner-up Dylan Yoder to the line by .829 seconds, while Jason Covert settled for third.
Quotable: "First night out, big race like this, to win like this means a lot, " said Jackson in victory lane. "I needed to charge (turn) one a little bit harder. I started doing that. I didn't want to get up off the bottom too much. I started getting more conservative than anything."
Key notes: Jackson made his first appearance of the season and the team overcame some electrical issues that had plagued them last season. ... Jackson previously won a UFO Race Championship event at Hesston on May 24, 2015. ... Yoder took second from Covert exiting turn two in the final 10 laps. ... The worst of a few feature incidents actually came at the checkers with a frontstretch scramble involving several cars, including Tim Wilson and Matt Parks. ... Hesston hosted the first of two consecutive AMS events; Friday's race pays $5,000-to-win. ... Speedweek competitors then head to Hagerstown Saturday and Selinsgrove Sunday to wrap up the campaign.
On the move: Kenny Pettyjohn of Millsboro, Del., started 10th and finished fourth; Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del., started 20th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson's Leggett-powered MasterSbilt Race Car by MBH is sponsored by Ernie D's, KSR Graphics, Penske Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire, Reliable Painting, Schaeffer's Racing Oil and Winchester Freight.
Points chase: Entering the race, Nick Dickson of Lewistown, Pa., had 379 points and led the standings over Jeff Rine (373) and Kenny Pettyjohn (314).
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Jared Miley
Time: 17.640 seconds
Polesitter: Keith Jackson
Heat race winners: Dylan Yoder, Justin Kann, Jason Covert, Mike Lupfer
Consolation race winners: Austin Hubbard, Nick Dickson
Next series race: June 10, Hesston Speedway (Hesston, PA) $5,000
Editor's note: Updates with correct finishing order of positions 11-21.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Jackson, Lupfer
Row 2: Cosner, Covert
Row 3: Yoder, Powell
Row 4: Bernheisel, Kann
Row 5: Myers, Pettyjohn
Row 6: Parks, Rine
Row 7: Wilson, Singleton
Row 8: Haus, Smith
Row 9: Stone, Miley
Row 10: Wagner, Hubbard
Row 11: Dickson, Wampler
Row 12: Hollenbeck, Fries

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728