Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/22/2021 10:05:08

Sponsor 743
June 7
Marshalltown Speedway,
Marshalltown, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Miller Lite 50) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 8, 7:21 am)
Guss leads all the way for Marshalltown victory
Miller Lite 50
  1. Ray Guss Jr.
  2. Tyler Droste
  3. Ryan Dolan
  4. Joel Callahan
  5. Cayden Carter
  6. Denny Eckrich
  7. Joe Zrostlik
  8. John Emerson
  9. Andy Eckrich
  10. Darrel DeFrance
  11. Richie Gustin
  12. Tyler Bruening
  13. Curt Schroeder
  14. Jeff Aikey
  15. Matt Ryan
  16. Chad Holladay
  17. Andy Nezworski
  18. Rob Toland
  19. Eric Pollard
  20. Gary Webb
  21. Scott Fitzpatrick
  22. Jason Rauen
  23. Kyle Hinrichs
  24. Curt Martin
presented by
Barry Johnson
Ray Guss Jr. cruised to a 40-lap victory at Marshalltown Speedway.
What won the race: Winning his first series race in more than two years, Hall of Fame racer Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., led all the way Tuesday at Marshalltown Speedway for a $2,000 Deery Brothers Summer Series victory. The second-starting Guss notched his 31st career tour victory, second on the all-time list, and finished with a cushion of four lapped cars between his No. 58 and runner-up Tyler Droste.
Key notes: Guss previously won on the series May 26, 2014, at Boone (Iowa) Speedway. ... The series has five winners in five events. ... The lone caution flew on the 19th lap. ... Former IMCA champ Todd Cooney had a rollover accident in a consolation race; he was shaken up but apparently OK. ... Curt Schroeder and Charlie McKenna went off on the hook after a frontstretch scramble in the fourth heat. ... Besides this event, Late Models join Marshalltown's weekly program on June 10, July 1, Aug. 5, 12, 19 and 26.
On the move: Tyler Droste of Waterloo, Iowa, started eighth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Guss's No. 58 is sponsored by Roberts Custom Software, Jim's Knoxville Tap, Roemer Machine & Welding, Eriksen Chevrolet-Buick and P&L Transportation.
Points chase: Jeff Aikey entered Marshalltown leading the series standings (187) over Tyler Bruening (172).
Car count: 33
Polesitter: Joel Callahan
Dash winner: Greg Kastli
Heat race winners: Ray Guss Jr., Joel Callahan, Curt Martin, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Richie Gustin, Scott Fitzpatrick
Next series race: June 14, West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Callahan, Guss
Row 2: Dolan, Nezworski
Row 3: Martin, Carter
Row 4: Zrostlik, Droste
Row 5: De. Eckrich, Aikey
Row 6: Holladay, Webb
Row 7: Gustin, Fitzpatrick
Row 8: Bruening, Emerson
Row 9: DeFrance, Ryan
Row 10: A. Eckrich, Rauen
Row 11: Hinrichs, Schroeder
Row 12: Toland, Pollard
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728