Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2023 07:05:34

Sponsor 743
June 3
Pepsi Lee County Speedway,
Donnellson, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 4, 7:32 am)
Chris Simpson outduels Mars at Lee County
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Jimmy Mars
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Jesse Stovall
  5. Rodney Sanders
  6. Tad Pospisil
  7. Rickey Frankel
  8. Tommy Weder Jr.
  9. Justin Kay
  10. Ryan Gustin
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. J.C. Wyman
  13. Joe Godsey
  14. Austin Siebert
  15. Terry Phillips
  16. Jason Feger
  17. Chad Simpson
  18. Jason Utter
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Jason Papich
  21. Brantlee Gotschall
  22. Randy Timms
  23. Dustin Griffin
  24. Mark Burgtorf
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Chris Simpson heads to an MLRA victory at Lee County Speedway.
What won the race: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, took the lead from Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., on lap 38 of Friday night's 40- lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association feature and marched on to pick up his sixth career victory on the regional tour. Simpson beat Mars to the line by 0.965 of a second.
Quotable: "We both had really good cars, and sometimes running second at that point is where you need to be to see where he's losing a little and I'm gaining a little," Simpson said. "I just kept arcing it into three really good and getting a straight run off of (turn) four, and I'm pretty sure that won me the race."
Key notes: Chris Simpson advanced from the fifth starting spot to capture his second MLRA triumph of 2016. It came one week after he experienced a rough weekend at the Show-Me 100, deeply bruising his left hand in a Thursday incident and nearly flipping his car on Friday. ... Jesse Stovall, who opened the MLRA weekend with a win at Southern Iowa Speedway on Thursday night, finished fourth. ... MLRA will wrap up the tripleheader at Randolph County Saturday night.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, started 18th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Five Star Shop and Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine and Tool, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, Eibach Springs and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Jason Papich of Arroyo Grande, Ca., leads the standings (483) over Terry Phillips and Jesse Stovall who both have 467 points.
Car count: 35
Polesitter: Jimmy Mars
Heat race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall, Chris Simpson, Rickey Frankel
Consolation race winners: Jason Feger, Ryan Gustin
Next series race: June 4, Randolph County Raceway (Moberly, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

 Feature lineup

Row 1: Mars, Jackson
Row 2: Stovall, Sanders
Row 3: Chris Simpson, Frankel
Row 4: Pospisil, Diercks
Row 5: Godsey, Kay
Row 6: Eckrich, Griffin
Row 7: Siebert, Weder
Row 8: Wyman, Burgtorf
Row 9: Feger, Gustin
Row 10: Chad Simpson, Phillips
Row 11: Utter, Timms
Row 12: Papich, Gotschall

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information