Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 19:39:52

Sponsor 743
May 21
Golden Isles Speedway,
Brunswick, GA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (I-95 Toyota Challenge) - $3,000
Information provided by: Rob Lee Hinckley (last updated May 24, 10:29 pm)
Dixon's demise opens door for Whitener at GIS
I-95 Toyota Challenge
  1. Mark Whitener
  2. Tyler Crowder
  3. Kyle Van Sickle
  4. Rhett Carter
  5. Jason Fitzgerald
  6. Cecil Eunice
  7. Travis Carroll
  8. Joshua Bishop
  9. Chad Tuten
  10. Brandon DeWitt
  11. Jimmy Sharpe Jr.
  12. Blake Spencer
  13. Howard Stalls
  14. Kelly Walker
  15. Robert Diekemper
  16. Mark Davis
  17. Jimmy Sharpe Sr.
  18. Larry Anderson
  19. Ryan Van Sickle
  20. Kyle Bridges
  21. Charlie Williamson
  22. Devin Dixon
  23. Scott Johnson
  24. Tom Jones
presented by
Mark Dhaemers/South Georgia Racing
Mark Whitener picked up $3,000 for his victory at Golden Isles.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead on lap 11 after polesitter Devin Dixon was collected by a spinning lapped car, Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., survived suspension problems at Golden Isles Speedway for a $3,000 victory in a I-95 Toyota Challenge event. Whitener pulled away from runner-up Tyler Crowder late for the victory.
Key notes: Whitener said he heard some "beating and banging" under his car and his crew later found the fifth-arm came off early in the race. ... Whitener also survived a lap-13 scramble that banged up sheetmetal among several drivers. .... Fast qualifier Devin Dixon, who led 11 laps, retired with a 22nd-place finish.
Winner's sponsors: Whitener's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Koury Engine and sponsored by United Land Clearing and Racecar Engineering.
Points chase: Jimmy Sharpe Jr. has 38 points to lead Brandon DeWitt (37) in I-95 Toyota Challenge points.
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Devin Dixon
Time: 16.149 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Dixon
Heat race winners: Devin Dixon, Mark Whitener
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information