Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 08:02:07

Sponsor 743
May 22
Humberstone Speedway,
Port Colborne, ON
Sanction: RUSH Dirt Late Model Series (Canadian Late Model Championship) - $2,000
Information provided by: Mike Leone (last updated May 23, 12:14 pm)
Waters grabs third victory at Humberstone
Canadian Late Model Championship
  1. John Waters
  2. Mike Pegher Jr.
  3. Bryce Davis
  4. Jason Knowles
  5. Brian Knowles
  6. Dennis Lunger Jr.
  7. Brady Wonderling
  8. Randy Hall
  9. Rob Pietz
  10. Tim Gillespie
  11. Jim Dale Jr.
  12. Eric Wilson
  13. Travis Martineau
  14. Jim Pinsonneault
  15. Brian Swank
  16. Mike Greene
  17. Paul Grigsby
  18. Phil Potts
  19. Bruce Hordusky
  20. Jeff Dayman
  21. Will Thomas III
  22. Colton Ledingham
  23. John McIntire
  24. Ken Winfield
presented by
Ken Kelly
John Waters talks about his victory at Humberstone Speedway.
What won the race: Fifth-starting John Waters of Whitesville, N.Y., captured the Canadian Late Model National Championship at Humberstone Speedway for the third consecutive season, earning $2,000 on the RUSH Late Model Series. Waters used the high groove to sweep around Mike Pegher Jr. on the 18th lap and led the rest of the 30-lapper.
Quotable: "Man I love this place," Waters said. "I don't know what it is, but it just fits my style. We even came completely different with tires. I think we went harder all the way around on tires than everyone else. I was giving them time to get worked in and get heat with all the cautions. Once I got confident that I had a good car underneath me, I made the move to get off the bottom and rolled the top."
Key notes: The 34-year-old Waters is unbeaten in three series races at Humberstone. ... Mike Pegher Jr. and Bryce Davis swapped the lead twice over the first 17 laps.
On the move: Brian Knowles started 20th and rallied to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Waters drove a Dale LeBarron-owned No. 11 sponsored by Atkins Appraisal, Troupscreek Heating, Fox Shocks, Fastline Performance, Renegade Forestry Management, Close Racing Supply and Sunoco/Insinger Performance Race Fuels.
Points chase: No series points have been tabulated.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: John Waters
Time: 15.975 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Pegher Jr.
Dash winner: Mike Pegher Jr.
Heat race winners: John Waters, Mike Pegher Jr., Bryce Davis
Consolation race winners: Rob Pietz
Next series race: May 23, Merrittville Speedway (Thorold, ON) $2,000
Editor's note: Corrects that event wasn't season opener.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728