Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/27/2020 01:26:29

Sponsor 743
May 15
Quad City Speedway,
East Moline, IL
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and Jeremiah Davis (last updated May 16, 10:11 am)
Callahan tops Carter for victory at Quad City
  1. Joel Callahan
  2. Cayden Carter
  3. Tyler Droste
  4. Ray Guss Jr.
  5. Jeff Aikey
  6. Jeremiah Hurst
  7. Andy Nezworski
  8. Matt Ryan
  9. John Emerson
  10. Richie Gustin
  11. Jay Johnson
  12. Chad Holladay
  13. Scott Fitzpatrick
  14. Darrel DeFrance
  15. Rob Toland
  16. Luke Goedert
  17. Thad Wilson
  18. Tyler Bruening
  19. Ryan Dolan
  20. Jon Poll
  21. Luke Merfeld
  22. Ben Seemann
  23. Gary Webb
  24. Chuck Hanna
presented by
Chris Damitz/chrisdamitz.com
Joel Callahan heads to his first non-Farley victory on the series.
What won the race: Fifth-starting Joel Callahan of Dubuque, Iowa, captured his fourth Deery Brothers Summer Series race in as many seasons Sunday, earning $2,000 at Quad City Speedway. In winning for the first time on the series away from Farley Speedway, Callahan led the final five laps after overhauling outside front-row starter Cayden Carter, who built a straightaway lead early but settled for second.
Quotable: “We can usually run the low side when we need to and it worked well for us tonight,” Callahan said. “There were a couple times at midway when I got alongside but couldn’t get past. I had the advantage of running second but he (Carter) was tough.”
Key notes: Callahan's previous series victories in 2013, '14 and '15 each came at Farley (Iowa) Speedway, two of them in the Yankee Dirt Track Classic. ... The feature finished about 9:40 p.m. ... Series ironman Darrel DeFrance drew the lone caution when he spun on the first lap. ... Joe Zrostlik won the non-qualifiers' dash over Jason Rauen and Jon Merfeld after starting on the tail. ... Quad City hosted the series for its lone 2016 event. ... The event was a makeup of a May 1 rainout.
On the move: Tyler Droste of Waterloo, Iowa, rallied from his 14th starting spot to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Callahan's No. 40 is sponsored by Dubuque Bank & Trust, Grand Haven Retirement Community, Callahan Constructcion, Bell Tower Retirement Community, Callahan Painting and River Bend Retirement Community.
Points chase: Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, stretched his series points lead.
Car count: 39
Polesitter: Jay Johnson
Heat race winners: Jon  Poll, Chad Holladay, Joel Callahan, Ray Guss Jr., Jeremiah Hurst
Consolation race winners: Matt Ryan, Richie Gustin
Provisional starters: Tyler Bruening, Ryan Dolan
Next series race: May 30, Boone Speedway (Boone, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Johnson, Carter
Row 2: Aikey, Nezworski
Row 3: Callahan, Goedert
Row 4: Guss, Holladay
Row 5: Poll, Hurst
Row 6: Hanna, Emerson
Row 7: Fitzpatrick, Droste
Row 8: Toland, Ryan
Row 9: Gustin, L. Merfeld
Row 10: DeFrance, Seeman
Row 11: Webb, Wilson
Row 12: Bruening, Dolan

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728