Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/25/2020 04:21:29

Sponsor 743
May 7
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series (Mountain Outlaw 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated May 9, 3:56 am)
Bloomquist tops Smoky Mountain, earns $10,000
Mountain Outlaw 50
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Chris Madden
  3. Josh Richards
  4. Mike Marlar
  5. Casey Roberts
  6. Donald McIntosh
  7. Dale McDowell
  8. Steve Francis
  9. Rick Eckert
  10. Billy Moyer Jr.
  11. Darrell Lanigan
  12. Brandon Overton
  13. Ricky Weiss
  14. Eric Wells
  15. Greg Johnson
  16. Shane Clanton
  17. Morgan Bagley
  18. Chub Frank
  19. Steve Casebolt
  20. Chase Junghans
  21. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  22. Don O'Neal
  23. Joey Coulter
  24. Jared Landers
  25. Brian Shirley
  26. Ray Cook
  27. David Crabtree
presented by
Glen Starek
Scott Bloomquist takes the checkers at Smoky Mountain.
What won the race: Working the bottom of the racetrack, third-starting Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., edged ahead of polesitter Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., on the 16th of 50 laps, leading the rest of the way for a $10,000 World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway.
Key notes: Capturing the Mountain Outlaw 50 for the second consecutive season, Bloomquist notched his 29th career World of Outlaws victory. ... The Hall of Famer has now won his last three events at Smoky Mountain and he has finished on the podium in seven of his last eight starts at the track. ... The 50-lapper ran caution-free. ... Ray Cook piloted the No. 11B Capital Race Car of Stacy Boles. ... Ricky Weiss drove Vic Hill's No. 1 machine. ... Saturday's event drew 13 drivers from the state of Tennessee.
On the move: Driving for DP Motorsports, Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., improved from the 17th starting spot to finish eighth.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Sweet-Bloomquist chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Lucas Oil Products, Ole Smokey Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing and Weld Racing Wheels.
Points chase: Exiting Smoky Mountain, Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., has 1,744 points to lead Shane Clanton (1,600), Rick Eckert (1,582), Brian Shirley (1,534) and Brandon Overton (1,484).
Car count: 45
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 15.797 seconds
Polesitter: Casey Roberts
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Billy Moyer Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards
Consolation race winners: Steve Francis, Don O'Neal
Provisional starters: Shane Clanton, Brian Shirley, Chase Junghans, Frank Heckenast Jr., Steve Casebolt
Next series race: May 27, Moler Raceway Park (Williamsburg, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From series reports

MARYVILLE, Tenn. (May 7) — Scott Bloomquist stole the show Saturday at Smoky Mountain Speedway, capturing the Mountain Outlaw 50 at Smoky Mountain Speedway for a $10,000 payday on the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series.

Bloomquist joins Dale McDowell and Willie Milliken as non-series regulars to capture WoO events over the past three race weekends. Of course, Bloomquist is a former series champion and notched his 29th career WoO victory, tying him for sixth on the all-time list.

“We’ve been working pretty hard here,” said Bloomquist, who started third. “We tried a lot of different stuff. Last year we had a good year, but not quite what we really wanted. Fortunately, it forces you to get to work.”

Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., finished second with series points leader Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., in third. Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., and polesitter Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., who led the first 15 laps, rounded out the top five.

Bloomquist stuck with the inside groove early, taking second from Richards on the ninth lap and then using lapped traffic to overtake Roberts on lap 16. He mostly cruised the rest of the way, leading by as much as four seconds, but had a brief scare when lapping Darrell Lanigan.

“Right there at the end with Darrell Lanigan … he came down pretty hard,” Bloomquist said of the turn-one contact. “We got a little damage on the right side from that but other than that, we had no incidents  We could run anywhere on the race track.”

Madden started sixth but battled Richards most of the way, unable to catch Bloomquist.

“We didn’t get a good start – spun the tires which put us behind,” Madden said. “Me and Josh must’ve ran the whole 50 laps side-by-side. Every time I looked down I saw him.”

The two swapped positions several times throughout the race. With 20 laps to go, Madden nearly wedged his car under a lapped car to create separation, but Richards maintained the fraction-of-a-second distance. He ended up settling for third.

“We had a really great battle,” said Richards, who started outside the front row. “We were able to run up with Chris and Scott, and keep them in our sights. I feel like we had a second-place car. We were at the wrong angle when I thought I had him a couple times.”

Feature lineup

Row 1: Roberts, Richards
Row 2: Bloomquist, Eckert
Row 3: McIntosh, Madden
Row 4: Marlar, Moyer Jr.
Row 5: McDowell, Lanigan
Row 6: Overton, Weiss
Row 7: Wells, Coulter
Row 8: Cook, Johnson
Row 9: Francis, O’Neal
Row 10: Crabtree, Frank
Row 11: Bagley, Landers
Row 12: Clanton, Shirley
Row 13: Junghans, Heckenast
Row 14: Casebolt

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728