Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/27/2020 22:03:08

Sponsor 743
May 7
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 8, 8:44 pm)
Ferguson captures Carolina Clash victory at Cherokee
  1. Chris Ferguson
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Johnny Pursley
  4. Brett Hamm
  5. Donald Bradsher
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Josh Langley
  8. Anthony Sanders
  9. Brent Dixon
  10. Doug Sanders
  11. Travis Blackwell
  12. Dean Bowen
  13. Kevin Wilson
  14. Kenny Rominger Jr.
  15. Scott Shirey
  16. Derek Brown
  17. Chase McCormick
  18. Richie Corley
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Chris Ferguson set fast time and captured the main event.
What won the race: Polesitter Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., never looked back in leading Saturday's entire 40-lap Carolina Clash feature at Cherokee Speedway. Ferguson outran seventh-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., to collect a $4,000 payday, winning by 4.645 seconds.
Key notes: Ferguson won his 12th career Carolina Clash event. ... Fergy's crew thrashed all week to prepare for the race after a crushing April 29 accident while leading the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series feature at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, N.C. The wreck thoroughly bent the middle of his car's frame. ... After initially thinking he might be sidelined for several weeks, Ferguson picked up a new Longhorn Chassis on Wednesday and had it ready for action three days later. ... Cherokee's feature was slowed by five yellows, the most serious when Richie Corley taggled the turn-one wall on the 13th lap. ... Ten cars finished on the lead lap. ... Trent Ivey won the SECA Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., charged from his seventh starting position to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Ferguson's family-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Race Engine and carriers sponsorship from Championship Sparks Plugs, RPM Trailer Sales, Live Oak Family Dentistry, Langley Collision Center, Carver and Sons Roofing, On Site Solutions, and Keith's Handyman Service.
Points chase: Johnny Pursley moved into the series lead at Cherokee with 366 points with Chris Ferguson (364), Dean Bowen (361) and Ross Bailes (361) in contention.
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Chris Ferguson
Time: 15.517 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Ferguson
Heat race winners: Josh Langley, Donald Bradsher
Next series race: May 14, Modoc Raceway (Modoc, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects Frankin's starting spot to seventh sted ninth.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728