Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2020 03:37:34

Sponsor 743
May 6
Legendary Hilltop Speedway,
Marietta, OH
Sanction: Short Track Auto Racing Series (Legends 30) - $3,000
Information provided by: Tyler Carr and track reports (last updated May 7, 6:55 am)
Carpenter spins, Moran wins at Legendary Hilltop
Legends 30
  1. Devin Moran
  2. Tyler Carpenter
  3. Kyle Thomas
  4. Tim Dohm
  5. Corey Conley
  6. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  7. Anthony Kinkade
  8. Travis Brookover
  9. Steve Lucas
  10. Rod Conley
  11. Ronnie Mayle
  12. David Gibson
  13. Travis Brown
  14. Derek Doll
  15. Doug Wriston Jr.
  16. Freddie Carpenter
  17. Kevin Smith
  18. Zack Perine
presented by
Zach Yost
Devin Moran visits Legendary Hilltop Speedway's victory lane.
What won the race: Third-starting Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, inherited the lead from polesitter Freddie Carpenter of Parkersburg, W.Va., who spun in turn two on lap 15 while leading. Moran held off a late charge from Freddie's son Tyler Carpenter for a 30-lap victory paying $3,000 on the AMRA-STARS Late Model Alliance.
Quotable: "Every time we've been here I've been really good. The first time we were ever on the track I set the track record," Moran said. "It seems like our package works really good here."
Key notes: Moran was collected in Freddie Carpenter's lap-15 spin in turn two, but he was restored to the front for the restart. ... Moran won last year at Legendary Hilltop Speedway during the Buckeye Late Model Speedweek. ... Runner-up Tyler Carpenter and Kyle Thomas got together in the second half of the race battling for second with Thomas also doing a little fender-banging with Tim Dohm. ... Dohm was running third late when a flat tire hampered him as he slipped back to fourth. ... On Legends 30 night honoring former racers Bob Adams Jr., Dave Robinson and Bernie Triplet, Freddie Carpenter (driving a Mike Balzano No. E1 throwback), Tyler Carpenter (driving a Dave Robinson throwback No. 88) and Ronnie Mayle (driving a Triplet No. 50 throwback) sported different decal schemes than normal.
Winner's sponsors: Moran's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Tommy Pope Construction, Phillips Properties, Dow Cameron Oil and Gas, Donnie Moran Driving School, All About Wraps, Kendrick Excavating, Eddie's Sunoco and Accu-Force Shock Dyno.
Points chase: Entering the race, Travis Brookover of Kenna, W.Va., led points on the first-year AMRA-STARS Alliance.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Freddie Carpenter
Polesitter: Freddie Carpenter
Heat race winners: Freddie Carpenter, Kyle Thomas, Devin Moran, Corey Conley
Consolation race winners: Doug Wriston Jr.
Next series race: May 21, Tyler County Speedway (Middlebourne, WV) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects Freddie Carpenter's spin to lap 15 instead of lap 28.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728