Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2020 21:29:04

Sponsor 743
May 6
Farmer City Raceway,
Farmer City, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Douglas Dodge 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and staff reports (last updated May 7, 6:26 am)
Moyer outduels Sheppard in Douglas Dodge 40
Douglas Dodge 40
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Brandon Sheppard
  3. Kevin Weaver
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Devin Gilpin
  6. Ryan Unzicker
  7. Jason Feger
  8. Cody Mahoney
  9. Mike Spatola
  10. Mike Mullen
  11. Jeremy Payne
  12. Michael Kloos
  13. Tony Jackson Jr.
  14. Rusty Schlenk
  15. Adam Bowman
  16. Payton Looney
  17. Justin Asplin
  18. Jeff Roth
  19. Rich Bell
  20. Jason Playter Jr.
  21. Scott Bull
  22. Don Hammer
  23. Scott Schmitt
  24. Shannon Babb
presented by
Jeff Hall/hallracingphotos.smugmug.com
Billy Moyer heads for a $5,000 victory at Farmer City Raceway.
What won the race: Polesitter Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., overtook race-long leader Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., just past the halfway point for a $5,000 ALMS-MARS victory at Farmer City Raceway. Sheppard settled for second with Kevin Weaver third at the quarter-mile oval after a late battle with fourth-finishing Dennis Erb Jr.
Quotable: "(Sheppard) had a rocket ship off the start there, but he was driving the track different than me, and he'd come down off that berm, the banking there, and shoot down the straightaway way better than I could there early," Moyer said. "I don't know, we had our tires maybe a little bit different or whatever. I've just learned a few things on these old cars tirewise or whatever, so I was hoping we'd be stronger the last 20 than the first 20."
Key notes: The semi-retired Moyer, 58, notched his second victory of the season overall; he previously won an April 8 MLRA event in Wheatland, Mo. ... Moyer, who battled for second with Devin Gilpin before the midway point, picked up his 20th career MARS win, and his fifth career ALMS victory in the co-sanctioned event. ... Moyer struggled to lap the slower car of Justin Asplin in the second half of the race, allowing Sheppard a last-ditch charge on the high side that fell short. ... Sheppard, Kevin Weaver and Dennis Erb Jr. had a wild battle for second with Erb getting the worst of a three-wide scramble in turn three in the late stages. ... Shannon Babb ended up facing the wrong way early and was the first retiree. ... MARS and ALMS co-sanction Saturday's action at Fairbury American Legion Speedway.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's Billy Moyer Victory Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transportation, Car City, BSB Manufacturing, Kluhsman Racing Components and Peterson Fluid Systems.
Points chase: Entering the weekened, Brian Shirley led MARS points and Rusty Schlenk led ALMS points.
Car count: 44
Fast qualifier: Brandon Sheppard
Polesitter: Billy Moyer
Heat race winners: Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard, Cody Mahoney, Kevin Weaver
Consolation race winners: Mike Mullen, Tony Jackson Jr.
Next series race: May 7, Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's chassis brand.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728