Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/19/2020 17:35:12

Sponsor 743
May 6
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 7, 5:53 am)
Simpson holds off Gustin for MLRA victory at Davenport
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Ryan Gustin
  3. Terry Phillips
  4. Jesse Stovall
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Jacob Magee
  8. Jason Papich
  9. Justin Reed
  10. Chris Spieker
  11. Brian Birkhofer
  12. J.C. Wyman
  13. Brent Larson
  14. Justin Kay
  15. Denny Eckrich
  16. Ray Guss Jr.
  17. Tad Pospisil
  18. Austin Siebert
  19. Jay Johnson
  20. Jason Rauen
  21. Stephan Kammerer
  22. Jordan Yaggy
  23. Bryon Allison
  24. Brantlee Gotschall
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson (32) battles Jesse Stovall (00) at Davenport.
What won the race: Polesitter and race-long leader Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, held off a hard-charging Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa to win the caution-free MLRA event at Davenport Speedway. Simpson earned $3,000 for his fifth career series victory in the centerpiece of a tripleheader MLRA weekend.
Quotable: "I really thought somebody would roll me on the outside, and obviously Gustin was coming, but man, I was wasting a lot of time down there hitting those holes," said Simpson, who hugged the infield most of the race. "We had a good car ... even after the checkers I went up there and ran the middle where Ryan was, and it was definitely better. You could keep your momentum up. But I'd went up there to lap a car earlier and didn't feel that good, so I said I better get to my home back down here on the bottom."
Key notes: Simpson also won 2014's MLRA stop at Davenport. ... Simpson, shaking off after-effects of the flu, stuck with the low groove despite some rough spots on the quarter-mile layout. ... Runner-up Ryan Gustin gave it a shot on the high side on the final lap, but fell a few lengths short. ... Brandon Sheppard won his first MLRA race Thursday at Lee County Speedway. ... Scotland County Speedway in Memphis, Mo., hosts Saturday's action.
On the move: Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, started 18th and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Five Star Shop and Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine and Tool, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, Eibach Springs, and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Jason Papich entered the tripleheader weekend leading MLRA's point standings.
Car count: 33
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Chris Simpson, Dave Eckrich, Terry Phillips, Chad Simpson
Consolation race winners: J.C. Wyman
Provisional starters: Tad Pospisil, Bryon Allison
Next series race: May 7, Scotland County Speedway (Memphis, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's chassis brand.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chris Simpson, Stovall
Row 2: Gustin, Dave Eckrich
Row 3: Phillips, Chad Simpson
Row 4: Magee, Denny Eckrich
Row 5: Reed, Papich
Row 6: Rauen, Spieker
Row 7: Larson, Guss
Row 8: Yaggy, Siebert
Row 9: Wyman, Birkhofer
Row 10: Gotschall, Johnson
Row 11: Kay, Kammerer
Row 12: Pospisil, Allison

Sponsor 718
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728