Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2020 03:29:58

Sponsor 743
May 5
Pepsi Lee County Speedway,
Donnellson, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 6, 2:45 pm)
Sheppard finds Lee-way past Birky for MLRA win
  1. Brandon Sheppard
  2. Earl Pearson Jr.
  3. Chris Simpson
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Jesse Stovall
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Chad Simpson
  8. Jason Papich
  9. Justin Kay
  10. J.C. Wyman
  11. Terry Phillips
  12. Rickey Frankel
  13. Jordan Yaggy
  14. Jason Utter
  15. Gordy Gundaker
  16. Brantlee Gotschall
  17. Denny Woodworth
  18. Reid Millard
  19. Jason Rauen
  20. Brian Birkhofer
  21. Tad Pospisil
  22. Ray Guss Jr.
  23. Spencer Diercks
  24. Jason Perry
  25. Ryan Gustin
  26. Austin Siebert
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Brandon Sheppard (B5) moves under Brian Birkhofer (15B) to take command.
What won the race: Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., overtook race-long leader Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, just past halfway and cruised to his first-career MLRA victory. Earl Pearson Jr. was 4.3 seconds behind as the runner-up in his first 2016 start in the Illinois-based Moring Motorsports ride while Birkhofer retired while running third with four laps remaining.
Quotable: "The track was really tricky tonight, really slippery," Sheppard said. "Birky was really good right through the middle (of turns one and two), so I knew I had to move around and try to find a line that I was going to be able to pass him with."
Key notes: Sheppard overtook Birkhofer, back in action to run a partial schedule in 2016, on the 21st of 40 laps. ... Outside front-row starter Dave Eckrich ran second and third over the first half of the race; he ended up sixth. ... Ten drivers finished on the lead lap. ... A slowing Austin Siebert collected Reid Millard for an early yellow. ... Lee County's Thursday event opened a tripleheader weekend that takes MLRA drivers to Davenport and Scotland County Speedways.
On the move: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, started 14th and finished third; Jason Papich started 23rd and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Sheppard's Best Performance Motorsports Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Valvoline, Keyser Manufacturing, Hoosier Racing Tire and Mason Racin.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., moved into the points lead over Jason Papich of Nipomo, Calif.
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Brian Birkhofer
Heat race winners: J.C. Wyman, Brian Birkhofer, Rickey Frankel, Dave Eckrich
Consolation race winners: Denny Woodworth, Ray Guss Jr.
Provisional starters: Jason Papich, Brantlee Gotschall
Next series race: May 6, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects winning pass to 21 sted 20.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Birkhofer, Dave Eckrich
Row 2: Wyman, Pearson
Row 3: Sheppard, Frankel
Row 4: Diercks, Kay
Row 5: Stovall, Jackson
Row 6: Chad Simpson, Pospisil
Row 7: Yaggy, Chris Simpson
Row 8: Rauen, Utter
Row 9: Woodworth, Guss
Row 10: Phillips, Gustin
Row 11: Perry, Gundaker
Row 12: Papich, Gotschall
Row 13: Millard, Siebert

Sponsor 774
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728