Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 08:15:10

Sponsor 743
April 30
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (NASCAR Dega 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 1, 8:41 am)
TST gives Hiett first victory on SAS tour
NASCAR Dega 40
  1. Jason Hiett
  2. Riley Hickman
  3. Cory Hedgecock
  4. Dale McDowell
  5. Jake Knowles
  6. Tim Roszell
  7. William Thomas
  8. Dylan Ames
  9. Todd Morrow
  10. Joseph Joiner
  11. Jason Wilson
  12. Tim Busha
  13. Dallas Cooper
  14. Adam Cummings
  15. David Breazeale
  16. Mark Bangs
  17. Brad Skinner
  18. Jim Rogers
  19. Terry Smith
  20. Douglas Stewart
  21. Brad Berry
  22. Tommy Taylor
  23. Scott Cook
  24. David Seibers
presented by
What won the race: Winning his first Southern All Star event, home-track standout Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., dominated Saturday's 40-lap feature, earning $4,000 in taking the checkers 3.438 seconds ahead of reigning series champion and fellow front-row starter Riley Hickman.
Quotable: "It feels good to get that monkey off my back," the polesitting Hiett said after his first SAS victory. "We've led a bunch of these things and finished second in a bunch of 'em. Just glad to finally get it."
Key notes: The 32-year-old Hiett lapped all but nine competitors, building leads as much as seven seconds over Hickman. ... Hiett scored his third overall victory of the season, including a Super Late Model victory at Talladega on April 2. ... Runner-up Riley Hickman survived a slowly deflating tire. ... Hickman debuted a new CVR Race Car, but knew he had nothing for Hiett. "The best car won the race," he said. ... Mark Bangs, David Breazeale and several other cars were part of an early scramble between turns three and four. ... Michael Page won the NeSmith-sanctioned Crate Late Model touring victory on the undercard.
On the move: Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., started sixth and finished third, making a last-lap pass to reach the podium.
Winner's sponsors: Hiett’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Vinson Race Engine and sponsored by Freestyle Graphics, Phillips Properties, Austin Trucking, NSC Mechanical, Etowah Chemical, GW Performance and Timken.
Points chase: Entering action at TST, Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., led the standings with 348 points over rookie Brad Skinner (312) and Brandon Overton (286).
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Jason Hiett
Time: 14.564 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Hiett
Consolation race winners: Joseph Joiner, David Seibers, David Breazeale, Jason Wilson
Provisional starters: Brad Skinner, Jim Rogers
Next series race: May 7, Thunderhill Raceway (Summertown, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hiett, Hickman
Row 2: McDowell, Ames
Row 3: Knowles, Hedgecock
Row 4: T. Smith, Thomas
Row 5: Roszell, Morrow
Row 6: Joiner, Seibers
Row 7: Breazeale, Bangs
Row 8: S. Cook, Stewart
Row 9: Cooper, Wilson
Row 10: Cummings, Busha
Row 11: Taylor, Berry
Row 12: Skinner, Rogers
Sponsor 718
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728