Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 03:50:33

Sponsor 743
April 16
Sharon Speedway,
Hartford, OH
Sanction: Pace Performance RUSH Racing Series (Apple Festival Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 17, 1:07 pm)
Latta nails first-ever RUSH win at Sharon
Apple Festival Nationals
  1. Matt Latta
  2. Max Blair
  3. Charlie Duncan
  4. Eric Wilson
  5. Josh Double
  6. Alan Dellinger
  7. Dave Lyon
  8. Wyatt Scott
  9. Jason Knowles
  10. Brian Knowles
  11. Michael Duritsky
  12. Clinton Hersh
  13. Chris Frank
  14. Ed Bolyard
  15. Clay Ruffo
  16. Jared Kane
  17. Damian Bidwell
  18. Dennis Lunger Jr.
  19. Lon Emerick
  20. Jamie Wrightsman
  21. Will Thomas
presented by
What won the race: Matt Latta of Conneaut Lake, Pa., scored a hard-earned first career Sweeney RUSH Dirt Late Model Touring Series victory, outdueling standouts Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., and Charlie Duncan of Millersburg, Ohio, to capture the 30-lap Apple Festival Nationals makeup event. The 23-year-old victor earned $2,000 for his flag-to-flag triumph.
Quotable: "I can't even put into words what this means for our team," the emotional Latta said. "My brother (Tim) won this race. He puts in the most hours of anyone — you can't even imagine. Russ King has been a huge help this year (as well) and has helped us find a little more speed. I couldn't ask for anything better than to start the season this way."
Key notes: After Latta used the outside lane to outgun Duncan for the lead at the start, Blair moved into second on lap six and repeatedly challenged for the lead over the remaining distance. ... Blair's lap-12 bid to overtake Latta was short-circuited when he caught a rut; later, Latta turned back Blair's strong lap-24 attempt in lapped traffic and beat Blair to the finish line by 0.791 of a second. ... Duncan slipped by Blair for second on a lap-28 restart, but Blair regained the spot heading to the white flag. ... Latta's previous best RUSH Touring Series finish was second last year at Tri-City Raceway Park in Franklin, Pa. ... The race completed the twice-postponed Apple Festival Nationals from 2015.
On the move: Dave Lyon of Spring Creek, Pa., earned hard-charger status by advancing from the 21st starting spot to finish seventh.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Latta Brothers Racing Rocket by RKR machine is sponsored by Saegertown Hardware, Springs Body Shop & Supplies, Crawford Custom Consulting, Progressive Tool & Die, Fame RV Center, Knepp Buildings, Jay's Auto Wrecking and Hoosier Tire.
Points chase: Saturday night's program was the first RUSH Touring Series event of 2016.
Current weather: Cloudy, 42°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Max Blair
Time: 16.419 seconds
Dash winner: Charlie Duncan
Heat race winners: Max Blair, Will Thomas, Steve Lowery
Next series race: May 27, Eriez Speedway (Hammett, PA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information