Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 23:31:09

Sponsor 743
April 16
Bubba Raceway Park,
Ocala, FL
Sanction: United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series (Mike Peters Open) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 19, 12:42 pm)
Horton claims Ocala's $3,000 Peters Open
Mike Peters Open
  1. Doug Horton
  2. Tyler Crowder
  3. Mark Whitener
  4. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  5. Dillon Wood
  6. Joseph Joiner
  7. Shan Smith
  8. Jack Nosbisch Jr.
  9. Carter Stokes
  10. Kyle Bronson
  11. Phillip Cobb
  12. John Koller
  13. Blake Spencer
  14. Tyler Clem
  15. Shawn Taylor
  16. Megan Rae Meyer
  17. David Denson
  18. Scott Gray
  19. Joe Kump
presented by
Trace Crisp/photosbytrace.com
Doug Horton celebrates his victory in the Mike Peters Open.
What won the race: Doug Horton, a native of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., who now resides in Ruskin, Fla., pocketed $3,000 for capturing Saturday night's 50-lap Mike Peters Open on the United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series. It was the 49-year-old's first-ever UDLMCS triumph and came in his second start with the Ocala, Fla.-based Big Frog Motorsports team.
Key notes: Horton, who was a Super Late Model stalwart at tracks near his West Virginia home before relocating to Florida in 2013, debuted with the Big Frog Motorsports team on Friday night at All-Tech Raceway in Ellisville, Fla., finishing fifth. Big Frog owner Augie Burttram confirmed that he and Austin Kirkpatrick of Ocala, Fla., who began the season driving for the team, split a week-and-a-half ago; Burttram said he hasn't yet decided on his plans for the remainder of the season. ... The event race was originally scheduled for March 25-26 but postponed by poor weather. ... The race was originally rescheduled as a two-day show but later condensed into a single $3,000-to-win event to avoid a conflict with Friday's All-Tech event, won by Jason Fitzgerald. ... The race paid tribute to the former track owner.
Winner's sponsors: Horton's Augie Berttram-owned Big Frog Motorsports car is a Rocket XR1 chassis and carries sponsorship from Dave's Towing, Big Frog Signs & Graphix and Integra Racing Shocks.
Points chase: Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., extended his points lead with a third-place finish.
Current weather: Sunny, 79°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Doug Horton
Time: 14.813 seconds
Polesitter: Mark Whitener
Heat race winners: Tyler Crowder, Doug Horton, Mark Whitener
Next series race: July 16, Volusia Speedway Park (Barberville, FL) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects spelling of Augie Burttram's last name.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information