Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 04:50:07

Sponsor 743
April 15
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Spring Thaw) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 16, 12:00 pm)
After Madden's twirl, Marlar tops Bulls Gap
Spring Thaw
  1. Mike Marlar
  2. Dale McDowell
  3. Rick Eckert
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Gregg Satterlee
  6. Jason Covert
  7. Eric Wells
  8. Shanon Buckingham
  9. David Payne
  10. Stacy Boles
  11. Josh Putnam
  12. Devin Gilpin
  13. Chris Madden
  14. Vic Hill
  15. Adam Bowman
  16. Robby Moses
  17. Mark Vineyard
  18. Cody Mahoney
  19. Chad Ogle
  20. Jake O'Neil
  21. Mark Douglas
  22. Zack Olger
  23. Mack McCarter
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotography.com
Feature winner Mike Marlar gets up to speed at Bulls Gap, Tenn.
What won the race: Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., took the lead after race-long pacestter Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., spun out following contact with a lapped car and marched on to a $4,000 triumph in Friday night's 40-lap opener of the Old Man's Garage Spring Nationals-sanctioned Spring Thaw Weekend.
Key notes: The pivotal moment occurred on lap 24 when Madden, who started from the outside pole, found himself entangled with the slower car of Jake O’Neil between turns one and two after O’Neil slowed with a broken rear j-bar and was attempting to drop down and enter the turn two infield opening. With nowhere to go, contact sent the race leader spinning and ultimately to the rear of the field. ... Marlar, who was the fastest qualifier in Group A and started the feature from the pole, scored his first win of 2016 and third career victory on Ray Cook's Spring Nationals Series. ... Three of the top six finishes were from Pennsylvania: Rick Eckert (third) and first-time Volunteer visitors Gregg Satterlee (fifth) and Jason Covert (sixth). ... The feature was slowed by four caution flags. ... Saturday night's 60-lap Spring Thaw finale pays $10,000 to win.
On the move: Rick Eckert of York, Pa., who started 12th and came home in third. He capped his run by surging past several cars on a lap-24 restart to reach third place.
Winner's sponsors: Marlar's Capital Race Car is sponsored by Delk Equipment Sales and RC Trading Company.
Points chase: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., extended his points lead with a fourth-place finish.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 13.318 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Marlar
Heat race winners: David Payne, Jason Covert, Dale McDowell, Donald McIntosh
Next series race: April 16, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Marlar, Madden
Row 2: Hill, C. Ogle
Row 3: Payne, McDowell
Row 4: Covert, McIntosh
Row 5: Wells, Satterlee
Row 6: Vineyard, Eckert
Row 7: Putnam, Mahoney
Row 8: Gilpin, Buckingham
Row 9: Bowman, Douglas
Row 10: B. Ogle., O'Neil
Row 11: Boles, Moses
Row 12: McCarter

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information