Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 05:27:37

Sponsor 743
May 17
Outlaw Motor Speedway,
Oktaha, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Outlaw Late Model Nationals) - $3,000
Information provided by: Kyle Bean and series reports (last updated May 18, 11:49 am)
Dominant Moyer cruises for $3,000 MLRA payday
Outlaw Late Model Nationals
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Travis Dickes
  5. Jeremy Payne
  6. Tommy Weder Jr.
  7. Ryan Gustin
  8. Jesse Stovall
  9. Dave Eckrich
  10. John Anderson
  11. Austin Siebert
  12. Scott Lewis
  13. Raymond Merrill
  14. Brett Hansen
  15. Kevin Patrick
  16. Bill Koons
  17. Brandon Morton
  18. Will Vaught
  19. Brandon McCormick
  20. Garrett Murrell
  21. Dalton Ragsdale
  22. Dillon Rupe
  23. Jason Redman
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Billy Moyer takes the checkers Saturday near Muskogee, Okla.
What won the race: Third-starting Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., took the point from polesitter Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., in the opening laps and dominated the 40-lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association event, leading by over a full straightaway at times. The Hall of Famer pocketed $10,000 for his 39th career series victory.
Quotable: "It's fun to drive this track, but it's a little tricky, especially getting in three there where they had them spinouts there all the time," Moyer said. "When you get in the lapped cars, you can get in there behind them too hard real easy, so I was just trying to watch that and just try to keep everything underneath me."
Key notes: Sixth-starting Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., came alive late and stole runner-up honors from series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, exiting the final corner. ... The feature's initial start was called back after outside front-row starter Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., slid high. ... Dalton Ragsdale of Fort Gibson, Okla., went up in smoke to draw a lap-two caution. ... Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., who led every lap of Friday's feature, took a turn for the worse in the middle of Saturday's main event when he hit the inside berm while running third, spun 360 degrees and then continued while losing several spots; on the 23rd lap, he tangled with Omaha, Neb., driver John Anderson while battling for seventh and retired. ... Moyer is the eighth different MLRA winner in as many '14 races; his 39 series victories are third all-time. ... The doubleheader marked the MLRA's first trip to Outlaw since 2006.
On the move: Tommy Weder Jr. of Woodward, Okla., passed seven cars in finishing sixth.
Winner's sponsors: The winner's Moyer Xtreme by Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Engine and sponsored by Banner Valley Hauling, Car City, Cooley Transport, Crop Production Services, Deatherage Opticians, Henderson Motorsports, Jack's Carquest, J&J Steel, Karl Chevrolet, L&D Trucking, New Vision Graphics, Ohlins Shocks, Red Line Oil, Sparks Motorsports, Sunoco Race Fuels and Watters Autoland.
Points chase: Though he's winless, Chad Simpson extended his points lead over Dickes, who finished one spot behind him; 58 markers separate the top two, while Phillips is third 61 points back of Simpson.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Will Vaught
Time: 18.982 seconds
Polesitter: Travis Dickes
Heat race winners: Travis Dickes, Jeremy Payne, Billy Moyer
Next series race: May 22, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728