Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 08:11:18

Sponsor 743
April 8
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Spring Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 9, 8:51 am)
Moyer cruises to $2,000 victory in MLRA opener
Spring Nationals
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Jimmy Mars
  3. Payton Looney
  4. Bobby Pierce
  5. Jason Papich
  6. Brad Looney
  7. Brandon McCormick
  8. Chris Brown
  9. Tim Manville
  10. Jack Sullivan
  11. Tony Jackson Jr.
  12. Jesse Stovall
  13. Gavin Landers
  14. Austin Rettig
  15. Kyle Beard
  16. Kyle Berck
  17. Randy Timms
  18. J.C. Wyman
  19. Dave Eckrich
  20. Terry Phillips
  21. Mark Dotson
  22. Dave Eckrich
  23. Justin Reed
  24. Jacob Magee
  25. Rodney Sanders
presented by
Todd Boyd
Billy Moyer waves in victory lane after his 41st career MLRA victory.
What won the race: Scoring his first victory of 2016, part-time racer and full-time Hall of Famer Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., led all 30 laps Friday at Lucas Oil Speedway to capture the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association opener. Fifth-starting Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., finished 4.335 seconds behind the polesitter in finishing second.
Quotable: “This is pretty good tonight. We hit everything pretty close to right,” said the 58-year-old Moyer, whose only other victory at Lucas Oil Speedway came in 2008. "It didn't drive exactly the way I wanted it to, but it was fast. We had tons of traction, but we need to get it to center it a little better.”
Key notes: Moyer, who notched his 806th career victory, is back in action after undergoing late-winter knee surgery. ... Runner-up Jimmy Mars said: "You want to win, but to get beat by Moyer, that's all right. It's fun competing with him." ... The feature was slowed by a lap-five caution when the right-front of Jacob Magee's car got hung up on the left-rear of Jesse Stovall's machine. ... On Saturday, MLRA drivers will be competing in a 45-lap feature paying $5,000-to-win. ... That's a boost from the scheduled $3,000-to-win purse thanks to sponsorship from Pitts Homes and the Jenkins family.
On the move: Jesse Stovall started 23rd and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's Billy Moyer Victory Race Car is sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transportation, Henderson Motorsports, the Garnant Family, Jack's CarQuest and Karl's Performance.
Points chase: Billy Moyer takes the early MLRA points lead.
Car count: 41
Polesitter: Billy Moyer
Heat race winners: Jason Papich, Jack Sullivan, Billy Moyer, Payton Looney, Gavin Landers
Consolation race winners: Austin Rettig, Terry Phillips
Provisional starters: Jesse Stovall, J.C. Wyman
Next series race: April 9, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moyer Sr., P. Looney
Row 2: Papich, G. Landers
Row 3: Mars, Pierce
Row 4: McCormick, Sanders
Row 5: B. Looney, Sullivan
Row 6: Dotson, Brown
Row 7: Berck, Da. Eckrich
Row 8: Beard, Manville
Row 9: Rettig, Phillips
Row 10: Jackson, Reed
Row 11: Magee, Timms
Row 12: Stovall, Wyman

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information