Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 11:54:35

Sponsor 743
April 8
Duck River Raceway Park,
Wheel, TN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated April 12, 12:36 pm)
Flag-to-flag McDowell grabs win at Duck River
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Darrell Lanigan
  3. Josh Richards
  4. Shane Clanton
  5. Brian Shirley
  6. Rick Eckert
  7. Mike Marlar
  8. Chase Junghans
  9. Casey Roberts
  10. Josh Putnam
  11. Morgan Bagley
  12. Cody Mahoney
  13. Brandon Overton
  14. Tim McCreadie
  15. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  16. Steve Casebolt
  17. Eric Wells
  18. Chub Frank
  19. Brad Skinner
  20. Billy Moyer Jr.
  21. Joey Coulter
  22. Don O'Neal
  23. Tyler Erb
  24. Tanner English
  25. David Seibers
  26. Jared Landers
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Dale McDowell (17m) outran Darrell Lanigan (15) for a Duck River victory.
What won the race: Charging to the lead at the drop of the green flag, polesitter Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., led the entire 50-lap distance, holding off Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., for a $10,000 World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series victory at Duck River Raceway Park. McDowell notched his first WoO victory since 2005.
Key notes: McDowell captured his 10th career World of Outlaws victory and second win of 2016. His last victory came March 19 at Boyd's Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. ... The race was slowed by a single caution when fifth-starting Jared Landers slowed in turn two on the second lap. ... Saturday's series event at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway was cancelled because of cold weather forecasts.
On the move: Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., advanced from the 17th starting position to finish ninth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell's Team Dillon Racing Warrior Race Car is sponsored by ECR Engines, Clements Race Engines, Boydbilt Fabrication, Bad Boy Off Road, University of Northwestern Ohio, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Cometic Gaskets, FK Rod Ends, Integra Shocks, Schoenfeld Headers, Keyser Manufacturing, TWM, All Star Performance, FSR, Hoosier Tire, Wiles Driveshafts, Weld Racing Wheels, Butlerbuilt Seats, GW Performance, Mark IV ATV's, Racing Optics, Winters Rear ends, QuarterMaster, Sweet Manufacturing, Peterson, and MSRMafia.com.
Points chase: After Duck River, Josh Richards has 1,170 points to lead Shane Clanton (1,060), Rick Eckert (1,040), Brian Shirley (1,036) and Brandon Overton (996).
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Shane Clanton
Time: 12.472 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Shane Clanton, Josh Richards, Jared Landers, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Casey Roberts, Morgan Bagley
Provisional starters: Steve Casebolt, Eric Wells, Joey Coulter, Tyler Erb
Next series race: April 29, Carolina Speedway (Gastonia, NC) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Brendan Capria
World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series

WHEEL, Tenn. — Dale McDowell hopped out of his car, pumping his fist to a near-capacity crowd Friday night at Duck River Raceway Park after grabbing his first World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series in nearly 11 years.

The 49-year-old Chickamauga, Ga., driver has won many major events since then, but none on the national tour since May 20, 2005 when he was last victorious at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex in Peebles, Ohio. While he led every lap of the 50-lap A-Main, he faced plenty of challenges en route to the $10,000 victory at the quarter-mile oval.

"The draw was big for us tonight," said McDowell, who started on the pole in his Team Dillon entry. "It's was awfully racey, especially in lapped traffic.”

McDowell held the inside groove of the track for most of the race, while others — fellow front-row starter and runner-up Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky. especially — tested him on the high side.

After McDowell built a two-second lead, on lap 29 Lanigan closed the margin. He contested McDowell further with five laps to go, but McDowell was able to maneuver through the slower cars and keep Lanigan's Clint Bowyer Racing machine at bay.

"Yeah, I had to get him hung-up in traffic and get a good groove around that top," said Lanigan, a three-time WoO champion who won the tour's last event contested at Duck River, in 2014. "But the top was so far out there so there really wasn't a whole lot left. He didn't miss his marks on the bottom, so it was going to be really hard to win it.”

Others gambled when choosing their line for the race. WoO points leader Josh Richards stayed low on the track but moved up to the center of the speedway towards the latter part of the race. The ever-changing track conditions coupled with some "missed adjustments" resulted in him rounding out the podium with a third-place finish.

"The bottom early was definitely good, but then it got a black ring around the bottom," said Richards about the bottom race-line becoming slick late in the race. "Dale did a great job. He was definitely the car to beat."

McDowell had another motivation fueling him toward the checkers. After the race, he smiled not for the winless streak he just snapped, but for his mother, who died in 2011.

"My mom has always loved this place," said McDowell, who will celebrate his 50th birthday on May 18. "I'd like to dedicate this win to her.”

Fast qualifier Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., finished fourth while mixing it up with Richards and Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., rounded out the top five.

"I got a little bit of body damage being stuck in the middle," said Richards about the battle for third. "It was just racing. Shane was right there on our bumper the whole time.”

Notes: With Saturday’s series event at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway cancelled by cold weather, WoO competitiors head to North Carolina the last weekend of the month with events at Gastonia’s Carolina Speedway and Fayetteville Motor Speedway. … Fourteen of 26 starters completed 50 laps. … McDowell's victory was the 10th of his career on the WoO series. A regular on the tour from 2004-06, he won six times in its inaugural season under the World Racing Group banner in 2004 and three times in '05. ... Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., was the top-finishing home-state driver in seventh. … Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., started 17th and finished ninth. … Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (last week’s regular-season winner at Duck River), Eric Hickerson, Austin Smith, Tony Morris and Tanner English.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, Lanigan
Row 2: Shirley, Marlar
Row 3: Landers, Richards
Row 4: Clanton, Overton
Row 5: Eckert, Frank
Row 6: Mahoney, Junghans
Row 7: Putnam, McCreadie
Row 8: Heckenast, Moyer Jr.
Row 9: Roberts, Bagley
Row 10: Skinner, Seibers
Row 11: O’Neal, English
Row 12: Casebolt, Wells
Row 13: Coulter, Erb

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information