Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 06:45:22

Sponsor 743
May 17
Penton Raceway,
Penton, AL
Sanction: Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 18, 7:15 am)
Firsts for Johnson: A series and Penton victory
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. J.R. Moseley
  3. Tyler Crowder
  4. Jacob Grizzle
  5. Dingus Griffin
  6. Josh Adkins
  7. Chase Edge
  8. Matthew Turner
  9. Tim Roszell
  10. David Brannon
  11. Brent Barrett
  12. Ronald Dunn
  13. Carlton Freeman
  14. Mark Dowdy
  15. Dana Eiland
  16. Jake Knowles
  17. Ted Lackey
  18. Chris Noah
  19. Cord Dodgen
  20. Jadon Frame
  21. Tim Busha
  22. Lavon Sparks
  23. Frank Wilson
  24. Ross Martin
  25. Brian Ligon
presented by
Eric Gano
Ronnie Johnson (5) slides under Brian Ligon (4) to take command.
What won the race: Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., went under polesitter Brian Ligon of Augusta, Ga., on the 47th of 50 laps for his first career Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series victory and his first-ever Penton victory. Ligon, who led the first 46 laps, crossed the line second but was disqualified for using a chemically-altered tire.
Quotable: “(Polesitter Brian Ligon) was running a higher groove than me, but I just couldn’t quite get under him coming off the corners,” Johnson said. “We were approaching some lapped cars that threw some loose dirt on the track, and he slipped the nose of his car up the track which gave just enough to get under him to take the lead.”
Key notes: Jake Knowles was challenging for second when a broken driveshaft forced him out just past the halfway point. ... Second-starting Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., was among the race's first retirees. ... The top eight qualifiers were locked in the 50-lap feature via time trials; remaining drivers ran consolation races to set feature starting spots. ... The series, a sister series to the NeSmith Chevrolet Late Model Series for Crate Late Models, is for competitors using Chevrolet's economical CT 525 powerplant. ... The second-year tour returned to the scene of its 2013 debut, where William Thomas of Phenix City, Ala., grabbed a victory; Thomas did not enter Saturday.
On the move: Josh Adkins of Talladega, Ala., came from 11th to finish sixth; David Brannon of Elora, Tenn., (21st to 11th) and Carlton Freeman of Eastaboga, Ala., (24th to 14th) each passed 10 cars.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by NeSmith Chevrolet, FG Lumber, Hoosier Tire, VP Racing, Appleton Power Rack & Pinions, Smith Competition Fire Systems,
Points chase: With his victory, Johnson overtakes Jake Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., atop the series standings. Johnson has 292 points to lead Dingus Griffin (280) and Tyler Crowder (280). Knowles finished 17th and dropped to fifth in points (262).
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Brian Ligon
Polesitter: Brian Ligon
Consolation race winners: Dingus Griffin, Matthew Turner
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728