Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2021 22:45:50

Sponsor 743
March 26
Port Royal Speedway,
Port Royal, PA
Sanction: UFO Championship Challenge - $3,000
Information provided by: Track and series reports (last updated March 29, 7:41 am)
Satterlee outduels Zeigler, wins at Port Royal
  1. Gregg Satterlee
  2. Jason Covert
  3. Austin Hubbard
  4. Dan Stone
  5. Jim Yoder
  6. Kyle Hardy
  7. Donald Lingo Jr.
  8. Chad Hollenbeck
  9. Matt Parks
  10. Mike Lupfer
  11. Andrew Yoder
  12. Andy Haus
  13. Nick Dickson
  14. Tim Wilson
  15. Chad Myers
  16. Coleby Frye
  17. Trent Brenneman
  18. Mason Zeigler
  19. Matt Sponaugle
  20. Tom Decker Jr.
  21. Mike Altobelli Jr.
  22. Dylan Yoder
  23. Tim Smith Jr.
  24. Rick Singleton
  25. Billy Wampler
  26. Waylon Wagner
presented by
Rick Neff
Gregg Satterlee picked up $3,000 for his victory at Port Royal.
What won the race: Gregg Satterlee of Indiana, Pa., won a lead-swapping battle with Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., to pick up his fourth career UFO feature victory in the tour's 2016 season opener. He beat Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., to the finish line in the 35-lapper by 1.658 seconds to pocket $3,000.
Quotable: “Competition in this region just keeps getting tougher," said Satterlee, who also scored a runner-up finish Friday at Williams Grove Speedway, "so to get a second and a win means a lot. I want to thank my crew chief, Robby (Allen), my sponsors, my family, and all of my fans for their great support.”
Key notes: Satterlee registered his second win in as many weeks at a central Pennsylvania half-mile oval known for sprint car racing. He earned $2,000 for winning the March 18 Super Late Model event at Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg. ... The eighth-starting Zeigler overtook Satterlee for the lead on lap 19, but he spun to a stop on lap 27 after relinquishing the top spot back to Satterlee on lap 27. ... Zeigler was making his second start of the season in the Bryan Klinedinst-owned No. 43a Rocket. ... Austin Hubbard moved forward from the 12th starting spot to finish third in his first start of 2016. ... The race was slowed by six cautions. ... Andy Haus, who won the first two features of '16 at Port Royal, climbed as high as fourth before finishing 12th. ... Defending UFO champion Devin Friese was slated to start from the pole but scratched prior to the feature. ... Rance Garlock won UFO's first Semi-Late feature.
On the move: Dan Stone of Thompson, Pa., hustled from 18th to finish fourth; Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., advanced from 19th to fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Satterlee's Rocket Chassis is powered by a Durham Race Engine and sponsored by Satterlee Petroleum, Keyser Manufacturing, Valvoline, Classic Ink Screenprinting & Embroidering and Integra Shocks.
Points chase: The event was the season opener for the UFO Race Championship Series.
Car count: 42
Polesitter: Mike Altobelli Jr.
Heat race winners: Mason Zeigler, Andy Haus, Dylan Yoder, Gregg Satterlee
Consolation race winners: Tim Wilson, Chad Hollenbeck
Next series race: May 7, Tyler County Speedway (Middlebourne, WV) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Altobelli, Satterlee
Row 2: Smith, Singleton
Row 3: Covert, Zeigler
Row 4: Hardy, Wampler
Row 5: Haus, Sponaugle
Row 6: D. Yoder, Hubbard
Row 7: Parks, Frye
Row 8: Lingo, Wilson
Row 9: Hollenbeck, Stone
Row 10: J. Yoder, Myers
Row 11: Dickson, A. Yoder
Row 12: Brenneman, Decker
Row 13: Lupfer, Wagner

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728