Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/29/2023 05:40:54

Sponsor 743
March 19
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Fall Nationals (Lucky Star 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen, series and staff reports (last updated March 20, 9:36 am)
McDowell captures $4,000 Boyd's victory
Lucky Star 40
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Cory Hedgecock
  4. Jonathan Davenport
  5. Jared Landers
  6. Randy Weaver
  7. Jason Croft
  8. Jason Hiett
  9. Aaron Ridley
  10. David Payne
  11. Tod Hernandez
  12. Dylan Ames
  13. Tyler Millwood
  14. Jake Knowles
  15. Derek Ellis
  16. Ryan King
  17. Brandon Williams
  18. Jason Welshan
  19. Ethan Hunter
  20. John Ownbey
  21. Tim Busha
  22. Anthony White
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Dale McDowell in victory lane at Boyd's Speedway.
What won the race: Second-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., took the lead on the opening circuit of the 40-lap feature event from polesitter Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., and bested third-starting Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., for a $4,000 Southern Nationals Bonus Series triumph at Boyd's Speedway.
Quotable: "It's awfully good to win at your home racetrack," said McDowell, who made light of being co-owner of Boyd's Speedway. "Some people don't like when you're racing at your own racetrack, but to heck with 'em, I've only got four or five more years I'm going to race, so I'm going to race."
Key notes: Dale McDowell earned his first career Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory. ... The race was slowed by two cautions. ... Tim Busha went up in smoke bringing out the first yellow on lap 13 and Jason Welshan slowed on lap 36. ... Jeff Smith won the $1,500 Crate Late Model feature. ... Boyd's hosts its first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event April 1; series regulars Jonathan Davenport and Jared Landers tuned up for that event after that national tour's event in Brownstown, Ind., rained out.
On the move: Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., charged from 13th to finish sixth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell's Team Dillon Racing Warrior Race Car is powered by a ECR Engine and carries sponsorship from Bad Boy Buggies, Big Dog Motorsports, Cometic Gasket, Ferris Commercial Mowers, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, National Boiler Services, and UNOH.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Hedgecock held a four-point advantage in the series standings over McIntosh.
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 14.651 seconds
Polesitter: Cory Hedgecock
Dash winner: Cory Hedgecock
Heat race winners: Jared Landers, Jason Croft, Jonathan Davenport, Tod Hernandez
Provisional starters: Anthony White, Jason Welshan
Next series race: May 20, Crossville Raceway (Crossville, TN) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information