Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/03/2021 00:16:52

Sponsor 743
March 5
North Georgia Speedway,
Chatsworth, GA
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated March 6, 12:31 pm)
Ownbey's North Georgia win first on Ultimate tour
  1. John Ownbey
  2. Jason Hiett
  3. Donald McIntosh
  4. Casey Roberts
  5. David Payne
  6. Riley Hickman
  7. Ray Cook
  8. Jason Welshan
  9. T.J. Reaid
  10. Skip Arp
  11. Dennis Franklin
  12. Kenny Collins
  13. Bo Shirley
  14. Casey Barrow
  15. Ellery Leake
  16. Cory Hedgecock
  17. Anthony White
  18. Derek Ellis
  19. Mike Marlar
  20. Aaron Ridley
  21. Jason Croft
  22. Ross White
  23. Glenn Elliott
  24. Chris Ferguson
presented by
Marty Bingham/binghamfreelance.com
John Ownbey earned $4,000 for his first Ultimate Series victory.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn. led all 40 laps Saturday at North Georgia Speedway for a $4,000 victory in grabbing his first career Ultimate Super Late Model Series victory. Jason Hiett of Lincoln, Ala., and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., finished second and third in Ultimate's season opener.
Quotable: "We had a real good car," Ownbey said. "We was debating on coming down her (with) a steel motor. We was afraid (the track) would be real fast against the big motors. But it seemed to hook up good and the track suited the car."
Key notes: Ownbey became the fifth different winner in series six events at North Georgia; only Dale McDowell is a repeat winner. ... Ownbey survived a spin by the lapped car of Glenn Elliott early in the race. ... Ownbey previously won Winchester (Tenn.) Speedway's WinterFest on Feb. 20. ... Third-finishing Donald McIntosh got sideways in turn four on the first lap but kept the handle on his car. ... A multicar pileup on lap 17 took Mike Marlar, Bo Shirley, Anthony White and Jason Croft out of the event, drawing a red flag. ... Chris Ferguson was the first retiree.
On the move: Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn. started 14th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Ownbey's No. J0 Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Phantom Race Engine sponsored by Sam's Restaurant Equipment, A+ Moving & Storage, M&S Motors, Denton's Wrecker Service, Stealth Carburetor and Austin Trucking.
Points chase: Saturday's event opened Ultimate's 2016 campaign, which is currently slated to include 28 events.
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 13.733 seconds
Polesitter: Donald McIntosh
Consolation race winners: Skip Arp, Jason Croft
Next series race: March 19, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728