Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 07:12:42

Sponsor 743
February 27
411 Motor Speedway,
Seymour, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Fall Nationals (Frostbuster 50) - $7,151
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated February 28, 5:39 am)
Flag-to-flag Hedgecock gets richest win at 411
Frostbuster 50
  1. Cory Hedgecock
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Jimmy Owens
  4. Dustin Linville
  5. Greg Johnson
  6. Anthony White
  7. David Payne
  8. Joey Leavell
  9. Jason Welshan
  10. Ryan King
  11. Josh Henry
  12. Jesse Lowe
  13. Drew Kennedy
  14. Mack McCarter
  15. Tony Morris
  16. Skip Arp
  17. John Ownbey
  18. Benji Cole
  19. Steve Smith
  20. Danny Yoder
  21. Ross White
  22. Ruben Mayfield
presented by
Thomas Hendrickson/dt52photos.com
Cory Hedgecock waves in victory lane after his victory at 411.
What won the race: Charging to the lead at the drop of the green flag, Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., led the entire 50-lap distance for a $7,151 Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory in 411 Motor Speedway’s inaugural Frostbuster 50.
Key notes: Hedgecock scored his richest Super Late Model victory. … The race was slowed by four cautions. … The first yellow flag flew on lap seven when David Payne spun in turns one and two … Steve Smith slowed in turns one and two to draw a caution on lap 18. … A yellow waved on lap 19 for a turn-three tangle involving Jason Welshan, Ryan King and Danny Yoder. … Jesse Lowe spun in turn one to draw a caution on lap 20; sixth-running Skip Arp retired under yellow. … Runner-up finisher Donald McIntosh was the winner of 411’s Hangover 40 back in January. … The inaugural event got a purse boost from track promoter Mack McCarter, whose sons drive the No. 71 and No. 51 cars (hence the unique winner's purse). ... Hedgecock also picked up a $1,500 victory in the Crate Late Model event.
On the move: Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., charged from the 14th starting position to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Hedgecock's No. 23 is sponsored by Smithbilt Homes, Brucebilt Performance, K&P Used Cars, Eagle Racing Engines, Rebel Diesel, Timeless Memories Photography, Renegade Fuel and ET Motorgear.
Points chase: The event was the opener of the Southern Nationals Bonus Series, one of three tours promoted by North Carolina's Ray Cook.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Cory Hedgecock
Time: 14.321 seconds
Polesitter: Cory Hedgecock
Consolation race winners: Joey Leavell, Jimmy Owens
Next series race: March 19, Boyd's Speedway (Ringgold, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

SEYMOUR, Tenn. — Charging to the lead at the drop of the green flag, Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., led the entire 50-lap distance for a $7,151 Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory in 411 Motor Speedway’s inaugural Frostbuster 50.

Preliminary results:

Consolation results

First consolation finish (top eight transfer): Joe Leavell, Greg Johnson, Ryan King, Jason Welshan, Jesse Lowe, Josh Henry, Anthony White, Ross White, Drew Kennedy, Doug Smith

Second consolation finish (top eight transfer): Jimmy Owens, John Ownbey, David Payne, Steve Smith, Dustin Linville, Ruben Mayfield, Tony Morris, Benji Cole, Danny Yoder

Consolation race lineups

(10 laps; top eight transfer)
First consolation
Row 1: Ryan King, Joe Leavell
Row 2: Greg Johnson, Anthony White
Row 3: Josh Henry, Jesse Lowe
Row 4: Drew Kennedy, Ross White
Row 5: Jason Welshan, Doug Smith
Second consolation
Row 1: John Ownbey, Benji Cole
Row 2: David Payne, Jimmy Owens
Row 3: Dustin Linville, Steve Smith
Row 4: Tony Morris, Ruben Mayfield
Row 5: Danny Yoder, Craig Greer


The top four qualifiers were locked in to the main event through time trials. Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., was Saturday’s overall fast qualifier, tripping the clock with a time of 14.321. Mack McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tenn., Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., are the other three drivers that will make up the first two rows of the 50-lap feature.

Time trial results

Driver (car no.), hometown, time
Cory Hedgecock (23), Loudon, Tenn., 14.321
Mack McCarter (51X), Gatlinburg, Tenn. , 14.397
Skip Arp (1), Georgetown, Tenn., 14.487
Donald McIntosh (7), Dawsonville, Ga., 14.501
Ryan King (1G), Seymour, Tenn., 14.509
John Ownbey (0J), Cleveland, Tenn., 14.575
Joe Leavell (8X), Waynesboro, Va., 14.627
Benji Cole (121), Canon, Ga., 14.637
Greg Johnson (88), Bedford, Ind., 14.664
David Payne (8P), Murphy, N.C., 14.723
Anthony White (2X), Clinton, Tenn., 14.749
Jimmy Owens (20), Newport, Tenn., 14.776
Josh Henry (00B), Newport, Tenn., 14.780
Dustin Linville (D8), Bryantsville, Ky., 14.796
Jesse Lowe (5J), Crossville, Tenn., 14.892
Steve Smith (3), Powell, Tenn., 14.902
Drew Kennedy (37K), Lancing, Tenn., 14.983
Tony Morris (10J), Murfreesboro, Tenn., 15.096
Ross White (0), Knoxville, Tenn., 15.118
Ruben Mayfield (00), Lenoir City, Tenn., 15.151
Jason Welshan (29), Maryville, Tenn., 15.155
Danny Yoder (2), Knoxville, Tenn., 15.200
Doug Smith (45), Harriman, Tenn., 16.326
Craig Greer (7G), Cleveland, Tenn., no time

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hedgecock, McCarter
Row 2: Arp, McIntosh
Row 3: Leavell, Owens
Row 4: Johnson, Ownbey
Row 5: King, Payne
Row 6: Welshan, Smith
Row 7: Lowe, Linville
Row 8: Henry, Mayfield
Row 9: A. White, Morris
Row 10: R. White, Cole
Row 11: Kennedy, Yoder

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728