Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/06/2022 05:51:36

Sponsor 743
February 20
Winchester Raceway Park,
Winchester, TN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (WinterFest) - $3,000
Information provided by: Robert Holman and other reports (last updated February 23, 11:08 am)
Ownbey wins WinterFest duel with Welshan
  1. John Ownbey
  2. Dylan Ames
  3. Riley Hickman
  4. Jason Hiett
  5. David Brannon
  6. Shannon Davis
  7. Tyler Millwood
  8. Eric Hickerson
  9. Tony Morris
  10. Forrest Gifford
  11. Brad Skinner
  12. Robert Gant
  13. Jason Welshan
  14. Joseph Faulkner
  15. Brad Berry
  16. Jesse Lowe
  17. Jerry Ashley
  18. David Seibers
  19. Josh Johnson
  20. Mark Haddon
  21. Kevin Lovvorn
  22. Jason Manley
  23. Donald McIntosh
  24. Richard Smith
presented by
Dana Bates
John Ownbey earned $3,000 for his victory at Winchester Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn., regained the lead from Jason Welshan of Maryville, Tenn., with a controversial late-race pass for a $3,000 Super Late Model victory at Winchester Speedway's WinterFest. Ownbey led 14 laps before Welshan took over, but when Ownbey drove underneath the leader in turn two on lap 38, Welshan spun and Ownbey led the rest of the 40-lapper.
Quotable: "I got a run on him down the straightaway and we entered (turn one) side-by-side," Ownbey said. "I was as low as I could and we touched a little ... It was (a) racing (deal).”
Key notes: An unhappy Welshan retired after his late-race spin caused by apparent contact between the frontrunners. ... The 40-lap feature lasted nearly an hour, half of that for the first five laps. ... Josh Johnson drew a lap-two caution. ... Jesse Lowe spun on the fifth lap after an incident with Riley Hickman and, after a lengthy delay, was sent to the tail. ... Donald McIntosh was running fourth on the sixth lap when he slowed for the third yellow. ... Just after Welshan took the lead from Ownbey on lap 15, Kevin Lovvorn spun in front of the leaders with Jason Manley, Dylan Ames and Riley Hickman involved; all got their spots back but Manley retired. ... Fourth-place finisher Jason Hiett piloted Richard Austin's No. A-19 Austin Trucking ride. ... Randy Gifford earned $1,000 in the Limited Late Model feature.
On the move: Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., started 10th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Ownbey's No. J0 Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Phantom Race Engine sponsored by Sam's Restaurant Equipment, A+ Moving & Storage, M&S Motors, Denton's Wrecker Service, Stealth Carburetor and Austin Trucking.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: John Ownbey
Time: 14.64 seconds
Polesitter: John Ownbey
Heat race winners: Donald McIntosh, David Brannon, Robert Gant
Editor's note: Corrects Ownbey's car number and sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ownbey, Lowe
Row 2: Welshan, Ames
Row 3: Manley, Millwood
Row 4: McIntosh, Brannon
Row 5: Gant, Hickman
Row 6: Hiett, Johnson
Row 7: Davis, Hickerson
Row 8: Morris, Skinner
Row 9: Smith, Ashley
Row 10: Faulkner, Gifford
Row 11: Haddon, Berry
Row 12: Seibers, Lovvorn
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728