Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/20/2024 02:46:02

Sponsor 743
January 30
Bubba Raceway Park,
Ocala, FL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Chevrolet Performance World Championship) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated January 31, 10:45 am)
Rambo grabs $10,000 in World Championship makeup
Chevrolet Performance World Championship
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Kyle Bronson
  3. Cale Conley
  4. Ryan King
  5. Trent Ivey
  6. Matt Henderson
  7. Tyler Clem
  8. Walker Arthur
  9. Ryan Crane
  10. Chase Edge
  11. Keith Nosbisch
  12. Marcus Minga
  13. Mark Whitener
  14. Michael Lake
  15. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  16. Bryan Bernhardt
  17. Monte Skinner
  18. Shan Smith
  19. Hudson O'Neal
  20. Jimmy McNamara
  21. Austin Kirkpatrick
  22. Blake Spencer
  23. Adam Bowman
  24. Tyler Bare
presented by
Bruce Carroll/NeSmith Media
Dennis "Rambo" Franklin heads to a $10,000 victory in Ocala.
What won the race: In a makeup event from November, third-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., outran polesitter Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., in the final circuits for a $10,000 victory in the 100-lap NeSmith Chevrolet Performance Crate Late Model World Championship.
Quotable: “My crew signaled me he was getting a right-rear,” Franklin said when asked if he was aware that Bronson had pitted for a tire change with 11 laps remaining. “I really didn’t know I lapped up to third place and was just trying to stay in rhythm, but I knew if I could stay in the racetrack for about two or three laps (on the restart) and get away from (Bronson) I’d be all right because I had a hard tire on. Man, my car was just so good, it could drive anywhere on the racetrack.”
Key notes: Franklin sat out Saturday afternoon's racing program to put his full focus on the evening's big-money World Championship event that event was held over from Nov. 20-21, 2015. ... Qualifying and heat races for the World Championship were completed in November before rain arrived, with consolation races and the feature contested Saturday. ... Bronson, who scored a $3,000 victory in the afternoon program, chose to pit running second with 11 laps to go because his right-rear tire had sealed over and he realized only three cars remained on the lead lap. "Rambo was so good I didn’t have a chance to pass him," Bronson said, "so I decided to gamble and take a shot."
On the move: Third-place finisher Cale Conley came from eighth; Matt Henderson charged from 23rd to finish sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is owned by Carl Sherwood and sponsored by M&W Transport, Nichols Plumbing, ASA Performance, C&D Properties and Hoosier Racing Tires.
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Kyle Bronson
Time: 14.876 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Bronson
Heat race winners: Kyle Bronson, Chase Edge, Dennis Franklin, Keith Nosbisch
Consolation race winners: Bryan Bernhardt, Blake Spencer
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information