Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 19:32:46

Sponsor 743
May 16
Outlaw Motor Speedway,
Oktaha, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Outlaw Late Model Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Kyle Bean and series reports (last updated May 17, 11:02 am)
Vaught goes distance for $2,000 MLRA payday
Outlaw Late Model Nationals
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Billy Moyer
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Ryan Gustin
  6. Travis Dickes
  7. John Anderson
  8. Jeremy Payne
  9. Tommy Weder Jr.
  10. Brandon McCormick
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. Raymond Merrill
  13. Austin Siebert
  14. Scott Lewis
  15. Jacob Magee
  16. Brandon Morton
  17. Bill Koons
  18. Dillon Rupe
  19. Kevin Patrick
  20. Jesse Stovall
  21. Dalton Ragsdale
  22. Jason Bodenhamer
  23. James Parker
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Will Vaught leads all 30 laps en route to his victory near Muskogee, Okla.
What won the race: Starting outside the front row, Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., got the jump on fellow front-row starter Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., and led all 30 laps to become the seventh different Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association winner in seven 2014 events. Vaught notched his second victory in three starts overall.
Quotable: “Jumping out in the lead there early, I didn't really know the distance (on second place),” Vaught said. “Gary Winger has been working on my shock package and we're trying to dial this thing in. We actually won with the other car, and been running good with the other car. Obviously we found something on the old car and put it on this one. This one has been pretty good tonight.”
Key notes: Two-time series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., overtook Moyer for second just past the halfway mark. ... Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., broke with two laps remaining while running sixth; he finished 20th. ... Vaught fought off a late-race charge from Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, to win the third heat; Gustin was fifth in the feature. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Jason Sperry, Brett Hansen, Joseph Gorby and Cliff Morrow. ... Friday's event was the first of a doubleheader weekend at Outlaw, where MLRA hadn't competed since 2006.
On the move: GRT house car driver Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., climbed from 15th to finish eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught steers a Warrior Race Car powered by a Custom Race Engine with sponsorship from Circle M Auto Sales, Eibach Springs, GW Performance, Integra Racing Shocks, Midwest Sheet Metal, Peterson Fluid Systems, Port City Racing and Warrior Race Cars.
Points chase: MLRA points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, fattened his points lead over sixth-finishing Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., and Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., who did not enter, with his fourth-place finish. Simpson entered the evening with a 48-point cushion.
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Billy Moyer
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Billy Moyer, Will Vaught
Next series race: May 22, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728