Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 18:58:52

Sponsor 743
May 16
Timberline Speedway,
Corley, TX
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated May 19, 10:51 pm)
Beard opens Timberline twinbill with $2,000 victory
  1. Kyle Beard
  2. Patrik Daniel
  3. Jon Mitchell
  4. Billy Moyer Jr.
  5. Timothy Culp
  6. Clay Fisher
  7. Shannon Scott
  8. Rick Hearnsberger
  9. Anthony Burroughs
  10. Ray Moore
  11. Tommy Surrett
  12. Jeff Wells Jr.
  13. Brandon Smith
  14. Garrett Alberson
  15. Kody Mea
  16. David Payne
  17. Lynn Beach
  18. Ronny Adams
presented by
Maudies Photography
Kyle Beard rolls around Timberline, where he won May 16.
What won the race: Series points leader Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., started on the pole and set the pace for all 30 laps, driving to $2,000 victory ahead of fellow front-row starter Patrik Daniel of Wills Point, Texas. Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, started and finished third.
Quotable: "Hats off to Billy White and Chris Green at Timberline Speedway for sticking their necks out and scheduling a doubleheader on such short notice," said series director Chris Ellis. "Those guys are really passionate about racing so hopefully racers and race fans will pack the place this weekend for both shows. I know we are really excited about this great weekend of racing."
Key notes: Daniel challenged Beard in the early stages of the race, but couldn't muster enough to pass the leader. ... The feature's first caution flag flew on lap 23 for debris and the second on lap 25 for a slowing car. ... Ronny Adams of Diana, Texas, was the feature's first retiree. ... The victory was Beard's 10th of his career on the tour and his first on the 2014 season; he became the eighth different Comp Cams winner through eight events. ... Beard also won the previous Comp Cams stop at Timberline on Aug. 9, 2013. ... David Payne spun on the initial start of the final heat. ... Lynn Beach pulled off before taking the green flag in the second heat. ... Ray Moore spun to draw a caution in the second heat after racing hard with Tommy Surrett; Brandon Smith slowed with a flat tire with two laps remaining in the heat after joining the battle with Moore and Surrett.
On the move: Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., rebounded from his early struggles to pick up the Larry Shaw Hard Charger Award with a 14th-to-fourth rallly.
Winner's sponsors: Beard wheels a Bob Pierce Race Car powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine with sponsorship from Gary Beard Trucking, Greg's Sawmill, Rockhard Powder Coating, Team 5 Enterprises, Upton Motorsports, Xtreme Race Graphics and 45 Race Shop.
Points chase: Beard extended his lead atop the standings with his victory; he entered Friday with a 10-point lead over 11th-finishing Tommy Surrett of Little Rock, Ark., and an 18-point edge over sixth-finishing Clay Fisher of Dewitt, Ark.
Car count: 18
Polesitter: Kyle Beard
Heat race winners: Kyle Beard, Jon Mitchell, Timothy Culp
Next series race: July 20, Boothill Speedway (Greenwood, LA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728