Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 22:08:21

Sponsor 743
October 24
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (NASCAR weekend) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated October 26, 4:00 pm)
Floridian scores Southern All Star upset at TST
NASCAR weekend
  1. Austin Kirkpatrick
  2. Randy Weaver
  3. William Thomas
  4. Jason Hiett
  5. Riley Hickman
  6. Jake Knowles
  7. Michael Page
  8. T.J. Reaid
  9. Dylan Ames
  10. Cody King
  11. Ryan Gifford
  12. Brad Berry
  13. Todd Morrow
  14. Kyle Beard
  15. Brandon King
  16. Bo Shirley
  17. Dillon Tidmore
  18. Mark Bangs
  19. Tim Roszell
  20. Ronnie Johnson
  21. Oliver Gentry
  22. Terry Smith
  23. Brad Skinner
  24. Tim Busha
presented by
What won the race: Fast qualifier and polestter Austin Kirkpatrick of Ocala, Fla., led all 40 laps Saturday at Talladega Short Track to notch his first career Southern All Star Series victory in the tour's season finale. Kirkpatrick took the checkers 0.882 seconds ahead of former series champion Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., to pocket $4,000.
Quotable: "Man, you guys don't know how good it feels," Kirkpatrick said in a post-race Facebook post. "Fastest in hot laps, qualified pole, led flag-to-flag ... in a car that I designed from a blank sheet of paper. Man, I'm in the clouds right now."
Key notes: A 22-year-old University of Florida student, Kirkpatrick competed in several Georgia-Florida Speedweeks shows and spring events but then sat out several months while building a chassis of his own design. He debuted the machine over Labor Day weekend and Saturday's success marked his first win in the car. ... Cuations appeared for Dillon Tidmore's lap-28 slowdown and Bo Shirley's lap-38 spin. ... The traditional weekend at TST came during NASCAR action across the highway at Talladega Superspeedway. ... Jason Hiett won the unsanctioned $2,000-to-win event for Super Late Models on Friday over Austin Kirkpatrick, T.J. Reaid, Jake Knowles and Terry Smith.
Winner's sponsors: Kirkpatrick's self-designed AK Autosports chassis is sponsored by Hitman Racing Suspension.
Points chase: Heading into the Southern All Star finale, Riley Hickman had wrapped up his unprecedented third straight title; Dillon Tidmore was named Southern All Star Cruise with the Champions/DirtonDirt.com Rookie of the Year.
Car count: 39
Fast qualifier: Austin Kirkpatrick
Time: 14.595 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Kirkpatrick
Consolation race winners: Ryan Gifford, Brad Berry
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information