Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/24/2024 12:12:21

Sponsor 743
October 3
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: UMP DIRTcar special events (non-touring) (Illinois State Championship Hamilton Memorial 100) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated October 5, 10:08 am)
Erb outruns Unzicker, grabs $5,000 at Peoria
Illinois State Championship Hamilton Memorial 100
  1. Dennis Erb Jr.
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Billy Drake
  4. Jason Feger
  5. Mike Spatola
  6. McKay Wenger
  7. Kevin Weaver
  8. Todd Bennett
  9. Tim Manville
  10. Donny Walden
  11. Mike Mullvain
  12. Rich Bell
  13. Jason Wagner
  14. Brad Stewart
  15. Gordy Gundaker
  16. Kyle Logue
  17. Kolby Vandenbergh
  18. Mike Provenzano
  19. Ray Guss Jr.
  20. Charley Hess
  21. Brandon Sheppard
presented by
Rich Edwards Jr.
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) outran Ryan Unzicker (24) in Peoria's finale.
What won the race: Third-starting Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., grabbed the lead from outside polesitter Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., in lapped traffic with 25 circuits remaining and marched on to a $5,000 victory in Saturday night's Illinois State Championship Hamilton Memorial 100.
Quotable: "We had a pretty good car. We were able to pace ourselves there a little bit and work our way up there," Erb said. "I knew the track was going to start taking rubber, so I had to try and get up front there and hold our own after that."
Key notes: Erb's fifth win of 2015 was his first since a UMP DIRTcar Summernationals score on July 10 at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway. ... Unzicker settled for a distant runner-up finish one week after reaching victory lane in a regular show at Peoria. ... Polesitter Ray Guss Jr. led the first 25 laps of the race before mechanical trouble forced him to retire, handing the top spot to Unzicker. ... Jason Feger made repeated high-side bids to overtake Erb for second before the halfway point but ultimately fell back to fourth behind Billy Drake, who was the event's biggest mover. ... The cancellation of the weekend's Lucas Oil Series doubleheader in Georgia allowed tour regulars Erb and Brandon Sheppard to enter their home state's Illinois State Championship event. ... The Hamilton Memorial 100 is sponsored by Beer 32. ... Four other divisions are in action along with Super Late Models. ... The $5,000-to-win purse paid $300 from 14th on back. ... Peoria's season wraps up Oct. 9 with a monster truck show.
On the move: Billy Drake of Bloomington, Ill., hustled forward from the 14th starting spot to place third.
Winner's sponsors: Erb's Black Diamond Chassis has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsorship from J.R. McBride Leasing, McBride Mack, M&S Concrete, Cheap Cars, Midwest Sheet Metal, Performance Rod and Custom, Allstar Performance and Hoosier Racing Tire.
Points chase: Hometown driver Todd Bennett has already wrapped up his 11th track title.
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Mike Spatola
Polesitter: Ray Guss Jr.
Heat race winners: Jason Feger, Ray Guss Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Dennis Erb Jr.
Consolation race winners: Kolby Vandenbergh, Jason Wagner
Provisional starters: Charley Hess
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Guss, Unzicker
Row 2: Erb, Feger
Row 3: Walden, Logue
Row 4: Spatola, Gundaker
Row 5: Weaver, Bennet
Row 6: Wenger, Sheppard
Row 7: Manville, Drake
Row 8: Bell, Stewart
Row 9: Vandenbergh, Wagner
Row 10: Mullvain, Provenzano
Row 11: Hess
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information