Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/08/2023 17:24:38

Sponsor 743
September 26
Dog Hollow Speedway,
Strongstown, PA
Sanction: UFO Championship Challenge (Thunder Dog 55 Showdown) - $5,250
Information provided by: Dave Kittey and other reports (last updated September 27, 6:08 pm)
Red-hot Hardy rallies for Dog Hollow victory
Thunder Dog 55 Showdown
  1. Kyle Hardy
  2. Mike Altobelli Jr.
  3. Keith Jackson
  4. Coleby Frye
  5. Dan Stone
  6. Jason Covert
  7. Devin Friese
  8. Matt Parks
  9. Dylan Yoder
  10. Dan Angelicchio
  11. Scott Rhodes
  12. Brian Tavenner
  13. Alex Ferree
  14. Michael Lake
  15. Ron Delano Jr.
  16. Chad Hollenbeck
  17. Dwayne Taneyhill
  18. Jim Yoder
  19. Ryan Christoff
  20. Cody Robbins
  21. Waylon Wagner
  22. Mike Blose
  23. Gregg Satterlee
  24. Shawn Claar
  25. Jerry Bard
  26. Doug Glessner
  27. Andrew Gordon
presented by
Barry Lenhart
Kyle Hardy (99v) slips under Mike Altobelli Jr. to take command.
What won the race: Rallying from his 23rd starting spot, Kyle Hardy of Stephens City, Va., continued a late-season hot streak with a $5,250 victory in Dog Hollow Speedway's ThunderDog 55 Showdown. His first UFO Race Championship Series victory was his third triumph overall in nine days as he overtook race-long leader Mike Altobelli Jr. on the 30th of 55 laps
Key notes: Hardy also earned more than $7,000 the previous weekend with a weekend sweep of unsanctioned action at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysburg, Pa. ... Hardy had to start 23rd via a penalty for an altercation at the scales with an official the previous night after Hardy's runner-up finish. ... Doug Glessner challenged for the early lead but faded. ... The biggest event in Dog Hollow's history wrapped up the UFO season. ... Jim Yoder drove his son Dylan's backup car. ... Devin Friese pocketed $2,000 in a tuneup Friday. .... Lindsay Barton won the Crate feature and Eric Irvin won the Semi-Late main. ... Super Late Model drivers failing to make the feature: Larry Baer, Gene Kain, Mike Mort, Dan Swartzlander, Ryan Claycomb, Jim Struble, Matt Sponaugle, Chris Rhodes, Dave Stamm, John Myers, Nick Dickson, Dave Blazavich, Tony Musolino, Tim Smith Jr., Tom Decker Jr., Jim O’Hara, Andy Fries, Rick Singleton, Quintin Wyandt and Matt Lux, who scratched after qualifying.
On the move: The winner started inside the 12th row; Dan Stone started 12th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Hardy's Viper Motorsports No. 99 MasterSbilt by Huey machine carries sponsorship from Aire Serv, Anthony’s Pizza, Auto Glass Experts, Culligan Water Treatment, George Cline Construction and Doug Hughes.
Points chase: Devin Friese of Chambersburg, Pa., wrapped up the championship with 925 points, finishing ahead of Dylan Yoder (916).
Car count: 47
Heat race winners: Doug Glessner, Jason Covert, Michael Lake, Kyle Hardy, Dan Angelicchio, Coleby Frye
Consolation race winners: Jim Yoder, Dylan Yoder
Editor's note: Corrects lap of winning pass.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information