Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2022 19:07:05

Sponsor 743
May 10
Dakota State Fair Speedway,
Huron, SD
Sanction: Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Rob Fogle and series reports (last updated May 30, 1:55 am)
Kaanta dominates BBCS season opener in Huron
  1. John Kaanta
  2. Eric Breeschoten
  3. Jake Redetzke
  4. Brad Seng
  5. Lance Matthees
  6. Scott Ward
  7. Kent Arment
  8. Eric Mass
  9. Ricky Weiss
  10. Zach Johnson
  11. Nick Beyenhof
  12. Pat Doar
  13. Brian Diede
  14. Jeff Wildung
  15. Chad Becker
  16. Zach Wohlers
  17. John Bey
  18. Marshall Fegers
  19. Nate Beyenhof
  20. David McDonald
  21. Jeff Provinzino
  22. Curt Gelling
  23. Jeremy Keller
  24. John Hoefert
  25. Jordan Heiman
presented by
Cody Papke/crpphotos.com
John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., heads to victory in Huron, S.D.
What won the race: Four-time series champ John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., led all the way from the pole position to notch his 24th career Challenge Series victory, just four behind all-time leader Pat Doar. Kaanta took the checkers ahead of Eric Breeschoten of Buffalo, Minn., and Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis.
Key notes: The race was the season opener for the WISSOTA-sanctioned series that will pay a record-high $10,000 to the champion. ... Jordan Heiman was scheduled to start eighth but dropped a driveshaft during parade laps. ... Nate Beyenhof slowed for a lap-nine yellow. ... John Hoefert drew a caution in turn four on the 11th lap. ... Eighteen of 25 starters were running at the finish. ... The event drew 35 drivers from four states and two Canadian provinces. ... Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn., winner of last year's title, finished 10th. ... The five-division event was sponsored by Dakotaland Federal Credit Union.
On the move: Breeschoten came from his eighth starting spot to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Kaanta is sponsored by Mars Race Cars, Joe Provo Racewear, C&D Trucking, Brown Engineering, CMD Race Shocks, Chad's Towing & Recovery, Don's Sheet Metal, GRP Motorsports, Karl's Chevrolet, Rick's Auto Care Center and Brent Wachsmuth Excavating, Trucking & Concrete.
Points chase: Kaanta, who won series titles in 2002-'03 as well as '10 and '12, moves into the early points lead in pursuit of his fifth title, which would break his tie with Pat Doar.
Car count: 35
Polesitter: John Kaanta
Heat race winners: Curt Gelling, Lance Matthees, Scott Ward, Pat Doar
Consolation race winners: Nick Beyenhof, Jeff Wildung
Provisional starters: David McDonald
Next series race: June 6, Brown County Speedway (Aberdeen, SD) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes polesitter to Kaanta sted Breeschoten.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728