Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 07:08:56

Sponsor 743
September 19
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Yankee Dirt Track Classic) - $7,500
Information provided by: Christian Dundee, Jeremiah Davis and series reports (last updated September 20, 5:44 pm)
Aikey captures third Yankee Dirt Track Classic
Yankee Dirt Track Classic
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Nick Marolf
  3. Justin Kay
  4. Richie Gustin
  5. Tyler Droste
  6. Jason Rauen
  7. Scott Fitzpatrick
  8. Tyler Bruening
  9. Andy Eckrich
  10. Ray Guss Jr.
  11. Chris Holley
  12. Joel Callahan
  13. Ryan Dolan
  14. Andy Nezworski
  15. Charlie McKenna
  16. Travis Denning
  17. Matt Ryan
  18. Chad Holladay
  19. Joe Zrostlik
  20. Ben Seemann
  21. John Emerson
  22. Darrel DeFrance
  23. Denny Eckrich
  24. Kyle Hinrichs
presented by
Beau Busch
Jeff Aikey poses with his team members after winning the Yankee Dirt Track Classic.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, took the lead from second-starting Scott Fitzpatrick on the 10th lap and fought off late challenges from polesitter Nick Marolf of Moscow, Iowa, to win his third career Yankee Dirt Track Classic. Aikey pocketed $7,500 in the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series finale.
Key notes: Aikey previously won the race in 1997 and 2003 when it was for Super Late Models. ... The 100-lap finale finished about 1 a.m. ... The first caution flew on lap 52. ... John Emerson slowed with 22 laps remaining. ... Matt Ryan drew the final yellow. ... The 38th annual Yankees Dirt Track Classic featured action in five different classes. ... The IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series was scheduled to wrap up its season with a pair of events on Friday and Saturday, but Friday's $3,000-to-win program was rained out. ... Racing was contested on Farley's 3/8th-mile layout. ... Dubuque Hose & Hydraulic sponsored the event.
Winner's sponsors: Aikey's MasterSbilt Race Car has an AEM engine with sponsorship from Fleck & Son Trucking, Can-Am Automotive & Towing, Strange Oval, Dentsmart and Aikey Auto Salvage.
Points chase: Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, clinched his second straight series championship with a third-place finish. Kay has also wrapped up the IMCA Late Model weekly racing title.
Car count: 59
Polesitter: Nick Marolf
Heat race winners: Tyler Droste, Matt Ryan, Justin Kay, Jason Rauen, Andy Nezworski, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Travis Smock, Ray Guss Jr., John Emerson, Darrel DeFrance
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information