Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 13:11:12

Sponsor 743
September 12
I-75 Raceway,
Sweetwater, TN
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA - $2,500
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated September 14, 6:48 am)
Henderson captures $2,500 home-state victory
  1. Matt Henderson
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Anthony White
  4. Chase Edge
  5. John Ownbey
  6. Ronnie Johnson
  7. Brandon Williams
  8. Jason Welshan
  9. Ryan King
  10. Todd Morrow
  11. Ryan Crane
  12. Brad Coffey
  13. Barry Goodman
  14. William Overbey
  15. Rusty Ballenger
  16. Jake Teague
  17. Darren Goins
  18. Justin Summers
presented by
What won the race: Polesitter Matt Henderson of Loudon, Tenn., led all 50 laps for his second NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series triumph of 2015, collecting $2,500 over fellow Tennesseans Cory Hedgecock of Loudon and Anthony White of Clinton. Henderson drove his throwback tribute car to former Tennessee driver Duayne Hommel, who greated Henderson in victory lane.
Quotable: “Duayne was telling me before qualifying how many turns on the suspension here, and how many turns there, and that’s what we did,” Henderson said. “So, what did we do, go out and set fast time. Then he tells us what tire we need on each corner, so that’s what we did. We led all 50 laps, and I was so happy that Duayne was here tonight when I took the checkered flag, I was just crying my eyes out and fist pumping out the window. Nights like this are ones you seem to only dream about, but tonight it came true. It was just awesome to see him when I got to victory lane!”
Key notes: Henderson previously won Feb. 14 at Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, Ga. ... Brad Coffey spun on the race's initial start. ... A turn-four pileup on the first lap brought out a red flag. Justin Summers got upside down in the fracas, while Rusty Ballenger, Ryan Crane and Barry Goodman were also involved; no significant injuries were reported. ... Crane later spun on lap six. ... Jake Teague slowed on the eighth circuit. ... Ballenger nearly rolled on the ensuing restart and then slowed again on lap 10, drawing another yellow. ... The final 40 laps went caution-free. ... The feature lineup was set straight from qualifying. ... The Sweetwater, Tenn., oval was scheduled to host NeSmith drivers for a weekend doubleheader, but Friday's program rained out. ... NeSmith competitors made their final trip to Tennessee with their first visit to I-75. ... Just three weekends of touring action remain with the cancellation of a Sept. 17-19 visit to Golden Isles.
On the move: Series points leader Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., started ninth and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Henderson's Duayne Hommel tribute car is sponsored by Ace Transmissions, Mighty Muffler & Brakes, Rebel Diesel Performance and Vineyard Lawn & Landscape.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Johnson had 1,614 points to lead Ryan King (1,232) and Chase Edge (1,502).
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Matt Henderson
Time: 13.552 seconds
Polesitter: Matt Henderson
Next series race: October 16, Golden Isles Speedway (Brunswick, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Henderson, White
Row 2: Hedgecock, King
Row 3: Edge, Williams
Row 4: Ownbey, Goins
Row 5: Johnson, Morrow
Row 6: Coffey, Teague
Row 7: Welshan, Summers
Row 8: Ballenger, Goodman
Row 9: Crane, Overbey

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information