Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 06:14:29

Sponsor 743
September 11
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (Diercks' Governor's Cup Iowa State Championship) - $2,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee (last updated September 12, 10:38 am)
Simpson collects $2,000, Governor's Cup opener
Diercks' Governor's Cup Iowa State Championship
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Justin Kay
  3. Brian Harris
  4. Paul Parker
  5. Jason Rauen
  6. Jason Utter
  7. Nick Anvelink
  8. Spencer Diercks
  9. Mark Burgtorf
  10. Denny Eckrich
  11. Chuck Hanna
  12. Ray Guss Jr.
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Matt Furman
  15. Lyle Zanker
  16. Matt Ryan
  17. Mark Rose
  18. Jay Chenoweth
  19. Mike Fryer
  20. Greg Wagner
  21. LeRoy Brenner
presented by
John Vass
Chad Simpson heads to a 30-lap victory on Davenport's quarter-mile.
What won the race: Series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led all 30 laps from the pole, collecting $2,000 for his 31st career Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series victory in the opening event of the Diercks' Governor's Cup Iowa State Championship.
Key notes: The feature's initial start was called back. ... Dave Eckrich spun on lap 26. ... Davenport hosts the Corn Belt Clash for a two-race weekend. ... Friday's opener paid $2,000-to-win, while Saturday's finale offers a $5,000 top prize. ... Friday's program was contested on Davenport's quarter-mile layout, while Saturday's action moves to the half-mile. ... The driver with the best average finish between the two programs will be crowned the Iowa Governor's Cup champion. ... Hometown driver Matt Ryan clinched the track's IMCA Late Model title over Andy Nezworski.
On the move: Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, advanced from the 11th starting spot to claim a runner-up finish.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's No. 25 carries sponsorship from Allstar Performance, Diercks Ltd, Farm Bureau Financial Services, GATR Truck Center, Graves Oil, Liebe Trucking, Master Built Concrete, Simpson Farms and Wehrs Machine & Racing Products.
Points chase: Simpson has a 57-point lead over Jason Utter through Friday's event.
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Matt Ryan, Chad Simpson, Denny Eckrich
Next series race: September 12, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Simpson, Ryan
Row 2: De. Eckrich, Harris
Row 3: Anvelink, Hanna
Row 4: Guss, Pa. Parker
Row 5: Utter, Rauen
Row 6: Kay, Fryer
Row 7: Burgtorf, Diercks
Row 8: Zanker, Da. Eckrich
Row 9: Furman, Chenoweth
Row 10: Rose, Wagner
Row 11: Brenner

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information