Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/13/2024 21:21:22

Sponsor 743
September 6
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Baltes Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 7, 2:51 pm)
Moyer holds off Mars, wins Baltes Classic at Eldora
Baltes Classic
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Jimmy Mars
  3. Kent Robinson
  4. Duane Chamberlain
  5. Jon Henry
  6. Vic Hill
  7. James Rice
  8. Rusty Schlenk
  9. Casey Noonan
  10. Scott James
  11. Brandon Thirlby
  12. Josh Rice
  13. Chad Ruhlman
  14. Jerry Bowersock
  15. Chad Smith
  16. Phil Ausra
  17. Curtis Roberts
  18. Wayne Chinn
  19. Austin Hubbard
  20. Jason Jameson
  21. Andrew Reaume
  22. J.R. Hotovy
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Billy Moyer picked up his first victory at Eldora since the 2010 World 100.
What won the race: Eldora standout Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., winner of the inaugural Baltes Classic in 2008, captured the eighth version of the Labor Day event Sunday at the Tony Stewart-owned speedplant. Moyer held off Jimmy Mars in a two-lap shootout to the checkers for the $3,000 victory. Mars, who made a last-stab slide job in turn four heading for the checkers, finished 0.132 seconds back.
Quotable: "He come underneath me and ran me good and clean there; he could've slid up in front of me and it might've been a disaster. He left me enough room to go back by," Moyer said. "We've raced together a lot and try to give each other room, you know. If it had been coming (to the checkers) for the (World 100), it might've been a different story."
Key notes: Moyer captured his first victory at Eldora since his sixth World 100 in 2010. ... He has four career Sunoco ALMS victories. ... On lap 23, Austin Hubbard and James Rice tangled exiting turn two for the second and final caution. ... Fifth-running Andrew Reaume hit the wall running fifth on the seventh lap. ... A flat right-rear tire eliminated Jason Jameson on the 18th lap. ... The eighth annual Baltes Classic served as a tuneup for next weekend's World 100, Dirt Late Model racing's most prestigious event. ... The event honors track founders Earl and Berneice Baltes.
On the move: Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, charged forward from 15th to complete the top five.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's Victory Race Car has a Clements Racing Engine and is sponsored by Henderson Motorsports, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Watters Autoland, Karl Performance, Car City, Garnant Family Farms, Sunoco Race Fuels, AMSOIL, McKee Auto/RV, Jack's CarQuest, Ohlins Shocks, Midwest Sheet Metal, Bad Boy Mowers and Eibach Springs.
Points chase: Entering the Labor Day weekend, Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., had 732 points to lead Brandon Thirlby (702) and Rusty Schlenk (693).
Car count: 39
Heat race winners: Billy Moyer, Matt Miller, Jimmy Mars, Austin Hubbard
Consolation race winners: Chad Smith, J.R. Hotovy
Next series race: September 19, Waynesfield Motorsports Park (Waynesfield, OH) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information