Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2023 00:24:36

Sponsor 743
May 9
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series (Short Track Challenge) - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and series reports (last updated May 10, 10:01 am)
Chris Simpson collects $3,000 Davenport win
Short Track Challenge
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Brian Birkhofer
  4. Ryan Gustin
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Brady Smith
  7. Rich Bell
  8. Jeremy Payne
  9. Dave Eckrich
  10. Billy Drake
  11. Scott Lewis
  12. Brian Harris
  13. Jason O'Brien
  14. Denny Eckrich
  15. Travis Dickes
  16. Brad Looney
  17. Matt Furman
  18. Brandon Sheppard
  19. Ray Guss Jr.
  20. John Anderson
  21. Justin Kay
  22. Mike Collins
  23. Jason Bodenhamer
  24. Jason Jaggers
  25. J.C. Wyman
  26. Justin Reed
  27. Bill Koons
  28. Jason Utter
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson (32) outduels Brian Birkhofer (15B) at Davenport.
What won the race: Overtaking Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, on the 30th circuit, polesitter Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, led the final 10 laps for a $3,000 victory. Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., climbed from fifth to finish second, while Birkhofer held on for third in an event co-sanctioned by the Corn Belt Clash and Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.
Quotable: “She wouldn't fire up right away, but the longer that race went, the better this thing got,” the winner said. “I just gotta thank Birkhofer for everything he does for me, to be able to run with him, I thought he was gone when he got around me.”
Key notes: The 40-lapper on the quarter-mile Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds oval ran caution-free. ... Simpson was shuffled back to third early. ... Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, jumped to the early lead from his second starting position and led just past halfway, when Birkhofer and Simpson slipped past. ... Birkhofer held the point until Simpson rallied by on lap 30. ... The winner's brother Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, rounded out the top-five finishers. ... The winning Simpson also won his previous start April 26 at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway.
On the move: Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., charged from 19th to finish sixth, while Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., advanced from 17th to eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's MB Customs entry is powered by a Pro Power Racing Engnie and carries sponsorship from Advanced Machine & Tool, Bill Bryant Trucking, Chase Decals, Christner Concrete, Five Star Shop Service, Fountain Transmission Specialists, GearWrench, Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation, King Farms, Lawn & Landscaping Solutions, Lucas Oil Products, Midwest Frame & Axle, Precision Overhead Doors and Simpson Farms.
Points chase: Entering Friday's event, Birkhofer held the Corn Belt Clash points lead, while Phillips topped the MLRA standings; Chad Simpson was second in both standings.
Car count: 45
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Brandon Sheppard, Rich Bell, Chris Simpson, Terry Phillips, Jason O'Brien
Consolation race winners: Jeremy Payne, Jason Jaggers
Provisional starters: Brad Looney, Matt Furman, Jason Utter, Jason Bodenhamer, Mike Collins, Bill Koons
Next series race: May 10, Jackson County Speedway (Maquoketa, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information