Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 13:45:27

Sponsor 743
September 5
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Larry Phillips Memorial) - $5,575
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 6, 10:56 am)
Whitwell earns first career MLRA victory
Larry Phillips Memorial
  1. R.C. Whitwell
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Jake O'Neil
  4. Jesse Stovall
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Mark Burgtorf
  7. Tim Manville
  8. Scott Lewis
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Jeremy Payne
  11. Jason Utter
  12. Brantlee Gotschall
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. David Turner
  15. Austin Siebert
  16. J.C. Wyman
  17. Dan Shepherd
  18. Jacob Magee
  19. Brandon McCormick
  20. Dalton Ragsdale
  21. Josh Hughes
  22. Payton Looney
  23. Jason O'Brien
  24. Larry Ferris
presented by
Todd Boyd
R.C. Whitwell (6) outran Terry Phillips (75) for $5,575 at Wheatland.
What won the race: Polesitter R.C. Whitwell took the early lead from fellow Arizona driver Jake O'Neil early, then fought off veteran Terry Phillips to capture his first Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory at Lucas Oil Speedway. Whitwell earned $5,575 in the Larry Phillips Memorial with Phillips, O'Neil, Jesse Stovall and Chad Simpson rounding out the top five.
Quotable: "(O'Neil) took off pretty fast there," Whitwell said. "It was awesome to have an all Tucson front row tonight. I just stayed calm and drove my race and stuck to it. This Larry Phillips Memorial race is awesome. Unfortunately I didn't get to meet the guy. He's a real special guy to racing, and won a lot of races and one that I look up to."
Key notes: Terry Phillips, running his first feature in a new Black Diamond Chassis, took the lead on lap 18, but Whitwell went back ahead on the next lap and led the rest of the 40-lapper. ... The Larry Phillips Memorial moved to Wheatland after several years in Springfield, Mo. ... The race honors the late five-time NASCAR Weekly Series champ and Hall of Fame short-tracker, the father of Terry. ... Action at the dirt track followed the Diamond Drag Boat Nationals at adjacent Lake Lucas.
Winner's sponsors: Whitwell's Al Humphrey-owned Victory Circle Race Car has a Kuntz & Co. powerplant and is sponsored by Barnett Harley-Davidson and Joyce Agronomics
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., holds the points lead over Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: R.C. Whitwell
Heat race winners: Mark Burgtorf, Dave Eckrich, Terry Phillips, R.C. Whitwell
Consolation race winners: Josh Hughes
Next series race: October 9, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information