Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/03/2023 22:39:36

Sponsor 743
September 4
Attica Raceway Park,
Attica, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series - $10,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett and series reports (last updated September 5, 3:15 pm)
Bloomquist keeps rolling with $10,000 Attica win
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Steve Casebolt
  3. Don O'Neal
  4. Jimmy Owens
  5. Earl Pearson Jr.
  6. Devin Moran
  7. Dennis Erb Jr.
  8. Jonathan Davenport
  9. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  10. Brandon Sheppard
  11. Doug Drown
  12. Jared Landers
  13. Chris Brown
  14. Steve Francis
  15. Matt Irey
  16. Larry Kingseed
  17. Casey Noonan
  18. Rocky Owens
  19. Ryan Missler
  20. Chris Keller
  21. Devin Shiels
  22. Rick Bond
  23. Jon Henry
  24. Kyle Moore
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Scott Bloomquist emerges in victory lane at Attica Raceway Park.
What won the race: Winning his third consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event, fourth-starting Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., outdueled polesitter Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., in the early stages of the 50-lap event, taking the lead on the 10th circuit after a brief side-by-side battle. Bloomquist, who also won the tour's stop at Attica in 2014, pocketed $10,000 after leading the final 41 laps.
Key notes: Bloomquist previously won Lucas Oil events Aug. 22 in Lawrenceburg, Ind., and Aug. 29 in Imperial, Pa. ... Series points leader Jonathan Davenport started 12th and ran as high as sixth before slipping back to eighth on a restart. ... The start of the program was briefly delayed by rains. ... Attica hosted the first of three Labor Day weekend events for the Lucas Oil tour, which also visits Portsmouth Raceway Park Saturday and I-77 Raceway Park Sunday.
On the move: Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., rallied from 14th to complete the top five.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Sweet-Bloomquist chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropratic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Lucas Oil Products, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing and Weld Racing Wheels.
Points chase: Jonathan Davenport entered the weekend with 5,255 points to lead Scott Bloomquist (5,035) and Jimmy Owens (4,970).
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Devin Moran
Time: 14.338 seconds
Polesitter: Steve Casebolt
Heat race winners: Steve Casebolt, Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist
Consolation race winners: Kyle Moore, Dennis Erb Jr.
Next series race: September 5, Portsmouth Raceway Park (Portsmouth, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Brian Liskai
Attica Raceway Park

ATTICA, Ohio — A resurgent Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., ruled Attica Raceway Park on Friday to race to his first three-race winning streak on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series since 2011.

Bloomquist took the lead from Steve Casebolt on the 10th lap and, other than a few restarts, wasn’t seriously challenged on Detroit Chocolat Night in repeating his Lucas Oil Series victory from last season at Attica. Bloomquist’s 59th career series victory and 553rd overall of his career paid $10,000 as he took the checkers ahead of Indiana drivers Casebolt of Richmond and Don O’Neal of Martinsville. Former series champs Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., and Earl Pearson Jr of Jacksonville, Fla., rounded out the top five.

Bloomquist continued chipping away at the series points lead of Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., who finished eighth.

“We’re up for this (championship run) … we just don’t need any more bad luck,” Bloomquist said. “We had that race in Batesville won and would have gotten us really close. We’re creeping up on it. We had such a bad start to the year. Jonathan’s been running extremely well … we just need to step it up.”

Bloomquist and Davenport had a scrape in the fourth heat, but Bloomquist survived to come out on top.

“In that heat race … something else got damaged on the car beside just the body. We got that fixed. The toe-out was alright, but I think it did something else because a number of times I had a catch in the steering and it would catch, it would hold itself in one spot. We’ll change that out and send it back to Randy Sweet and he’ll fix it and we’ll keep on trucking.”

Casebolt, a winner earlier this season at Attica, stayed within striking distances after leading laps five through nine, but he couldn’t overtake the winner in traffic.

“Scott and Davenport and Owens and these guys have set the bar so high they’ve left us no choice but to try some different things and we did … everyone in the pits is doing that,” Casebolt said. "The fans in this area should be proud to have a racetrack like this. We really enjoy coming over here to race. My car owner Tye Twarog lives over here in Ohio, so it's always good to have a good finish for him.

“I was making up ground on Scott until that yellow. It was weird … we’d run him down and keep up with him and then he’d run off, kind of like a yo-yo effect and I don’t know why. I tried all over the racetrack and my car seemed about equal.”

O’Neal, who was third the previous weekend in Lawrenceburg, Ind., posted his first back-to-back top-five finishes on the tour since May 1-2.

“Two weekends in a row to finish in the top three the way we struggled middle of the summer, we’re making gains,” O’Neal said of his Barry Wright house car for Clint Bowyer Racing.

Casebolt and Devin Moran brought the field to green for the 50-lapper with Moran leading Casebolt, Bloomquist, Steve Francis and Eddie Carrier Jr. early. Casebolt challenged Moran lap after lap, with Bloomquist joining the battle. Casebolt took the lead on lap five with Moran and Bloomquist in pursuit.

A Jon Henry spin on lap seven bunched the field and Bloomquist drove around Moran for second on the restart and began pressuring Casebolt. Carrier took third from Moran on the ninth lap, but Moran, Owens, O’Neal and Francis battled throughout the main event. Bloomquist overtook Casebolt on the 10th lap and steadily pulled away.

Meanwhile, the race for third was a dandy with Carrier, Moran, Owens and O’Neal battling. Moran would move back into third on lap 19 as the leaders prepared to race into lapped traffic. The caution flew on lap 27 for Chris Keller with this running order: Bloomquist, Casebolt, Moran, Owens, O’Neal, Carrier and the 12th-starting Davenport.

When the green flew again, so did Bloomquist. Only a caution for Rocky Owens on lap 35 would slow his march to the checkers. On the restart Bloomquist pulled away while Casebolt as O’Neal came to life and raced into third. As Bloomquist drove away, Casebolt had his hands full with O’Neal and Owens. Bloomquist would took the checkers about four lengths ahead of Casebolt.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Casebolt, Moran
Row 2: Francis, Bloomquist
Row 3: Irey, Carrier
Row 4: O’Neal, J. Owens
Row 5: Missler, Sheppard
Row 6: Drown, Davenport
Row 7: Noonan, Pearson
Row 8: Kingseed, Brown
Row 9: Moore, Erb
Row 10: Keller, Shiels
Row 11: Henry, R. Owens
Row 12: Landers, Bond

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information